Home > All, Internet, Media, Music, Technology > More On Free Music [For The Critics]

More On Free Music [For The Critics]

In case you missed my previous entry concerning why I believe music should be free, just click here to get up to date.

Now to those who say, “How do you expect me to produce my music for free? It costs money for production costs, software, ect.”

Well, let me tell you that is not true. Aside from the fact that you can use BitTorrent technology to upload your music to the world for absolutely no cost at all (for you or your listeners), there is also a host of FREE software (open source) for recording multi-track audio! One of the best available is called Audacity. Completely free and loaded with features! Another completely free program, which some people believe is better than Audacity, is called KRISTAL.

Actually, upon further investigation, I think KRISTAL is much better than Audacity. But this is beside the point. What I mean to point out here is the fact that you don’t need thousands of dollars to produce and distribute music. All you need is a decent sound card capable of multi-track recording. Personally, I use SoundBlaster’s X-Fi XtremeMusic. Searching on Google Products (formerly “Froogle”), you can find this sound card for around $100.

So yeah, that’s about all I have to say to all the nay-sayers who think that “music can’t be free.” And if you really need money that badly, do a concert or two. I’m sure that if you’re music is good enough, people will pay to see you perform live.

I suppose that is the key issue. When people stop having to pay for recorded music, the wheat is separated from the chaff. The people who are only in it for the money no longer are making that money. Only the people who love music for what it is will still be hanging around. And I think that’s the way it should be.

For more free, open source audio programs and tools, click this link.

If you have any comments, questions or are looking for my music, contact me at godkillzyou@gmail.com.

Read a book!

Categories: All, Internet, Media, Music, Technology
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Tell Me What You Think...