Home > All, Errors, Hacks/Tricks, iTunes, Music, Rant, Technology > An Open Letter To Apple [Please Fix Error 4450!]

An Open Letter To Apple [Please Fix Error 4450!]

Shortly following my posting of this entry, through the insight of those who left comments on my original entry, as well as from those sending me email comments, I’ve come to realize that I may have been hasty to place the entire blame of this “Error 4450” solely on Apple.

Here is what I originally wrote…

To Whom It May Concern At Apple, Inc.,

On my blog, I write mainly about philosophy, religion, skepticism, science and the like. But, by far, the most popular post on my entire blog is the post in which I discuss an error that occurs in iTunes – the dreaded “Error 4450.” In fact, my post is the first post to come up on Google when searching for “Error 4450.”

This error pops up when burning CD’s in iTunes. At different (seemingly random) times during the burning process, the disc will eject and a message will pop up saying that the burn process has failed, relating that the cause is “Error 4450.”

The “Comments” section of my post is filled with frustrated users searching for answers. People have tried everything from registry scanners, to different brands of CD-R’s, to disc drive lens cleaners. Nothing works.

On the Apple Support website, there is no official response to this problem. Then we go to the Support Forum portion of the site and we find countless users experiencing this same problem, with not a single bit of help offered from you, Apple!

In fact, Apple, you’ve been completely silent on this “Error 4450” issue. The name implies that it bears some type of significance. Your programmers must know something about this. And yet, as I’ve said, you remain silent on the entire issue. Do you intend on ignoring this issue indefinitely? Until we get frustrated enough to go out and find another media player that works better than iTunes?

Overall, I am happy with iTunes. But, to the degree that people have complained about this issue and, to their dismay, there having been nothing done about it whatsoever, I’m beginning to wonder if you (Apple, Inc.) aren’t taking your customers for granted. Have you become comfortable in your position?

It seems to me that it wouldn’t take much to solve this issue. Just a little attention and some debugging skills.

With that being said, I’m speaking for everyone who’s had this problem. Please, Apple, fix Error 4450, or at least let us know what’s going on with this problem and offer some type of help for those who are experiencing this problem.

Thank You.

P.S.

Please, don’t give us something ignorant like “uninstall and reinstall” because we all know this is a cop-out and does not fix the problem. We’ve all done this countless times before.

For those of you who are experiencing this error, I would recommend filing a bug report, even if you’ve already done so. You can do this in iTunes by going to this link. From this site you can provide Apple with useful information about your situation and the circumstances surrounding the occurrence of “Error 4450.” Under “Feedback Type” select “Bug Report.”

As I’ve said before on this blog, my main purpose for writing is to contribute to the wealth of information on the internet, to help make the internet a place where useful information can be found. I also think that, as one who values truth and intellectual honesty, it would only be right for me to acknowledge that I was wrong about my original post.

So, to conclude, thanks to everyone who brought my attention to where my arguments were flawed.

  1. someone
    Sunday June 7, 2009 at 6:12 PM

    so um, have you filed a bug?

    • Monday June 8, 2009 at 3:59 AM

      I don’t recall that I have. It’s possible that I may have when this first started happening a few years ago. But, I couldn’t say with 100% certainty.

      After this length of time, and considering the number of people who’ve had the issue, I’m not sure that filing a bug will do much good.

      • someone
        Monday June 8, 2009 at 7:24 AM

        you have made three poor assumptions:

        1. other people have filed bugs (never assume this — everyone always assumes everyone else has)
        2. your report cannot help
        3. more reports cannot help

        complaining on your blog is a waste of time. tell apple and stop making excuses.

        • Monday June 8, 2009 at 10:51 AM

          I didn’t make any excuses. I’m simply stating a fact that this problem has been in existence for quite some time.

          And, by virtue of the fact that this error has been assigned a “number,” namely 4450, this means that a certain set of circumstances has been met which the programmers of iTunes are perfectly well aware of, and might I say, accounted for in their programming.

  2. someone
    Monday June 8, 2009 at 7:27 AM

    i say all of that having worked on plenty of software before – i’m sure apple is the same way as the places i’ve worked

  3. Dozer
    Monday June 8, 2009 at 2:56 PM

    The error, 4450 is VERY likely generated by Windows and iTunes is just reporting the error ID code it’s receiving. You should direct the open letter to Microsoft.

  4. Monday June 8, 2009 at 5:26 PM

    Thanks to everyone who’s contacted me concerning this post. I think, with your help and input, I’ve realized that it this isn’t necessarily Apple’s fault, and I may have been a bit hasty in putting this post together.

    I’m debating whether or not I should delete this post altogether, or edit it to reflect a more reasonable position. My goal in blogging is to contribute to the amount of knowledge available to everyone on the internet, and I want this post, as well as all of my others, to reflect that.

    Suggestions?

    “Everyone is entitled to their own opinion… not their own facts.”

  5. Friday August 21, 2009 at 6:47 PM

    hey i got the same error so what i did was created a new playlist with the same songs and it worked. it burned =] may be itunes is against people burning the same playlist a lot of times because of piracy or something….. hope this works

    tell me if it does luisfpardo@hotmail.com

    • Friday August 21, 2009 at 7:10 PM

      I’ve never tried the new play list thing. I’ll have to give that a shot.

      • Chelytenens
        Saturday July 30, 2011 at 11:35 PM

        aaaaaah, that’s probably why they haven’t made an official response to the 4450 you get when burning multiple times. Piracy paranoia. I burned a playlist twice, and it didn’t work on the third time. It worked in a new playlist. Multiple burns don’t work on same playlist: new playlist solves problem.

  6. Yoyo
    Tuesday September 29, 2009 at 10:52 AM

    I believe that is a music “rolyality” issue. The music industry is fighting hard to restrict what we can do with the music that we purchase. I have the same problem. I purchase music from ITUNES and then I want to burn a CD of that music for my vehicle and CD player in another room of the house and I can not. I think it is purposely happening.

  7. Nik Gupta
    Thursday November 5, 2009 at 9:23 AM

    Frankly I am fed up with Error 4450. Had downloaded drivers from Gear and it started working for a while. Has come back again.

    I am absolutely very angry when they do not make any attempt to address this issue. If this has something to do with Windows, it is disgusting!

  8. Tammy
    Sunday June 13, 2010 at 4:34 PM

    Still looking for a cure to the error 4450.
    061310 date

  9. JoeyG
    Thursday June 24, 2010 at 1:58 PM

    ^^^same here

  10. Sunday October 28, 2012 at 4:18 AM

    This used to be a spam comment. I’m using their IP address to validate a link to actual content that I created. More links for me? Yay!

    Are you interested in searching YouTube comments? YouTube comment search not working? I made a video showing how to do it…

    Search YouTube Comments Using Google

  1. Sunday June 7, 2009 at 1:17 PM

Tell Me What You Think...

