Home > Errors, Games, Hacks/Tricks, Rant, Technology > XBox 360 Error 51-C00DF236 Fixed [Play Videos Offline]

XBox 360 Error 51-C00DF236 Fixed [Play Videos Offline]

The Annoying Introduction

If you’ve found this entry from a search engine, you’re probably at your wits end with trying to solve this issue. You’re trying to play a video file on your XBox 360, but it won’t let you watch it unless you’re signed on to XBox Live.

You attempt to play the video, but unless you’re signed on to XBox Live, you get a message saying you need to download an update in order for the video to play; an update that you’ve already (countless times) downloaded. Well, that’s not exactly the problem. In fact, that’s not the problem at all.

This all has to do with Microsoft’s annoying DRM (Digital Rights Management) practices. I’ll give you my story, and I’m willing to bet yours is similar. I got my first XBox 360 about 4 years ago. It finally died on me a couple months ago. Obviously, a 4 year-old XBox is not under warrantee any longer. So, I went out and bought another one. Kept my hard drive and stuck it on my new XBox.

Now, Microsoft’s sneaky little trick is that they only allow your videos to be played on the original XBox that you set your gamertag up on. Let’s call my original XBox that I purchased 4 years ago “XBox A,” and my new XBox will be called “XBox B.” Each XBox has a unique “Console ID” number. A long string of numbers uniquely identifying your particular XBox.

Because I initially set up my gamertag on XBox A, when I attempted to play videos on XBox B, Microsoft realized that I was playing videos on an “Unauthorized” XBox that I had not originally set my gamertag up on. So, obviously they had to weasel their way into my life and keep me from watching videos in a convenient manner – meaning I had to be signed in to XBox Live in order to watch anything.

That’s not to say there isn’t a fix, because there is. And here’s how to do it…

The Solution

Microsoft has a site where you can “Transfer Content Licenses to a New Console.” It’d be nice if something like this was mentioned on the XBox error message. It could possibly save a lot of anger and frustration.

From this site, you get all the instructions on how to transfer your “license” to watch your own videos on your own XBox! So much for “Digital Rights.” More like Digital TYRANNY! No wonder torrent sites are so popular. All of the content with none of the restrictions.

Anyway, that’s the fix. You have to go to that site and transfer your license to your new XBox.

Hope this helps!

  1. Paul
    Monday June 8, 2009 at 1:01 AM

    l found your article “XBox 360 Error 51-C00DF236 Fixed [Play Videos Offline]” today just when l was “at my wits end”
    l followed your straight forward instructions and l am now back to the land of movies!! thank you for the simple advice, it seems xbox isnt able to supply simple advise…

  2. Anthony
    Wednesday June 17, 2009 at 12:12 AM

    Ha ha I guess that explains it. I always wondered why I needed to constantly download the “update” but it was never a problem until today when Live has been down all day and I haven’t been able to watch any videos. Thanks for the solution, I’m gunna go try it now.

  3. James
    Wednesday June 17, 2009 at 5:21 PM

    Any suggestions for my issue: I have 100s of videos I created by transcodeing my DVD collection into .mov and .mkv and .avi files. I have ’em all on an external HD connected to the USB port on my Xbox360. I only have issues playing them back when disconnected from xbox live. Since i didn’t buy them from microsoft there’s no license.

    I email microsoft, who promply ignored my message and sent a form letter back. Any suggestions other than buy an apple TV and mail a copy of the recepit to Redmund?

    • Thursday June 18, 2009 at 4:20 AM

      James,
      The issue isn’t with the license for the individual movies. The license is for the media player on the XBox, itself. Whether it’s a DivX codec, or Windows Media, the license is for the player, not the movies. So, you will have to follow the same instructions. Transfer your “license” to your current XBox.

      But, be careful. You can only transfer your license once every 12 months. So, if this is not your primary XBox, don’t do it.

  4. Tuesday July 7, 2009 at 12:06 AM

    Thanks very much for this info. I had a feeling it had to do with whatever profile the update was installed with, but I didn’t know the reasoning behind it.

  5. Uzbecka
    Tuesday July 21, 2009 at 4:42 PM

    Brilliant, totally fixed the problem. Thanks :-)

  6. Dan
    Sunday August 9, 2009 at 6:20 AM

    Just transferred content licenses to new xbox, followed instructions to redownload files, had nothing about media player license, still cannot play avi files when offline. Is there an amount of time i need to wait for licenses to transfer????

    Thanks

    • Sunday August 9, 2009 at 11:15 AM

      Dan,

      It should take effect immediately. Yours is the first case I’ve heard of it not working properly. You have to make sure that you follow the steps exactly. See if it will let you try the process again. Maybe it hasn’t been completed yet?

      • IBanginmywhytea
        Friday January 7, 2011 at 12:34 AM

        This happened to me after doing all of it and transferring the licensing. (or whatever) What I had to do was delete it and reinstall it and it worked magnificently.

        • Steve
          Saturday January 22, 2011 at 1:52 PM

          Same thing happened to me. Worked fine after deleting and reinstalling the optional media update.

  7. johnnic
    Sunday August 16, 2009 at 5:19 AM

    I have the same problem as Dan. I followed the steps and have plenty of games to download again but nothing in the video section. I am also playing movies off of my external HD. Hmmm, is there a way around this at all?

  8. Sunday August 16, 2009 at 9:37 PM

    For those who are experiencing troubles, I’d recommend contacting Microsoft directly. The link I provided is for transferring your license to play video offline. If that has not worked for you… if you’re certain you’ve followed the steps exactly as is shown on that site, then I’m not sure what the issue is.

    You can contact Microsoft XBox tech support here. There are several methods of contact. I’d recommend calling the tech support line for your issue.

    Their number is: (800) 4MY-XBOX. They may be able to help. It seems pretty rare that this issue isn’t resolved by transferring your license.

  9. Ben Bartolf
    Saturday August 22, 2009 at 7:01 PM

    You sir, are a legend. I have been struggling with this issue for over a year, and now it’s fixed. Thank you.

    • Saturday August 22, 2009 at 8:43 PM

      Glad to be of help. I struggled with it for a while myself.

  10. Free Xbox Live
    Sunday August 23, 2009 at 10:21 PM

    Thanks for that fix, that problem was pretty annoying. That’s an annoying move by Microsoft.

  11. micky d
    Sunday August 30, 2009 at 5:35 PM

    Thank you so much, seriously been getting bugged by that as microsoft said the licenses were transfered when my console was replaced….. turned out to be a blatant lie, thanks for solving the problem :-)

  12. RaZiel
    Sunday August 30, 2009 at 9:38 PM

    If you want to play xvids offline for non-ms video’s just make a new live account and delete the old OMU. Then re-d/l it with the newly created account and BAM they will work offline. I had to do this as I have no internet and wanted to enjoy XVIDS.

  13. Monday August 31, 2009 at 6:29 AM

    Hey! Seems you’ve made a lot of people’s days here but mine.I have a the exact same issue with my 360, the only difference in my case is I NEVER ONCE swapped my xbox. It never broke down, never got repaired, nada. So why in a witch’s tit would they start breaking MY balls with this crap? I’ve downloaded the update and everything, to my original box, on which all of my accounts were ORIGINALLY created, so what might have happened here?

    The funny part is it worked fine up until one day when it started showing the 51-C00DF236-code, which is really kind of creepy because I never even connected the internet-cable between the working days and the 51-C00DF236-days. Do they have little evil catterpillar-usb-robots that sneak in to my house, rape my port and squirt all kinds of annoying DRM-STD’s into my xbox or what?

    Thanks in advance!
    /Smejks

    • Kremdulvo
      Sunday April 18, 2010 at 1:12 PM

      To answer your question as simply as I can… just go back to your media player and remove sharing access then uninstall media player and reinstall, turn sharing on your player then go back and reassign your movie files to search in media player.. after a while you can return to your xbox and through the video files wiola…hope it helps i can walk you through if u didn’t get it but enjoy Ijust figured something needed to be said

  14. Akima
    Tuesday November 3, 2009 at 4:17 PM

    I never understood why I had to be connected tot Xbox Live to watch my Avi’s. It just didn’t make sense, untill I read your post here. This is my 3rd Xbox and now I understand that my licenses are spread between 3 console id’s. I followed your instruction and finally I can watch my Avi’s even when my Xbox doesn’t want to connect to Xbox Live.

    Thank you so much for your help! You have saved me from this ongoing frustration.

  15. grcanuck
    Wednesday November 4, 2009 at 1:02 PM

    I had the same issue. My Xbox 360 was replaced under the 3-year 3 flashing lights warranty. But I could not play avi or mp4 files without being connected to XboxLive. The solution was in a letter from Microsoft, included with the replacement Xbox 360. Sign into XboxLive, enter the gametag and select “Manage Account” and then “Download History”. One of the items in the History should be “Optional Media Update”. Just do “Download Again”. This will restore your license and you will be back to normal, watching movies on your Xbox 360 as before.

  16. bubba209
    Thursday November 5, 2009 at 11:35 PM

    What if the console was the original? I’ve never replaced my console before. This is my first elite and I’m trying to play my external drive but it gives me this error. What should I do.

  17. annoyedxboxer
    Monday November 23, 2009 at 6:41 PM

    I am having a similar issue. I always used to be able to stream movies i had on the hard drive of my computer to my xbox via the router, my xbox has always been connected to the internet, i haved never disconnected my xbox, the only thing i have done, is change from a silver to a gold account on live. I can still view the files on the xbox but when i try to play them, this seriously annoying message comes up telling me to download this update, which i already have! this happens with all codecs, divx, xvid etc. This also happened when i plugged a usb stick into the xbox. I used to be able to play them, i changed nothing, now i cant! aaarrrgggghhhhh please help!

  18. mac
    Friday November 27, 2009 at 9:49 PM

    I have never connected to xbox live and do not plan on it how do i get this same problem handled. i copy my movies in avi to a dvd disc and would like to play them. I am on my 3rd xbox 360. Thanks for any help

    • Saturday November 28, 2009 at 3:05 PM

      Your only option is to connect to XBox Live. That’s the only way to transfer your license to another console. Other than that, you can convert your movies to DVD format and watch them that way.

  19. Friday December 4, 2009 at 11:03 AM

    Thank you very much ! :D
    I did this on my second xbox and it worked succesfully.
    Now I can watch divX movies from my memory stick ;)

  20. CaptinSmoke
    Wednesday December 9, 2009 at 3:00 PM

    OMG thank you so much created new account and can now play vids offline…that was getting stupid…thanks rrod for the headache

  21. smokit
    Saturday December 12, 2009 at 9:14 PM

    None of these tricks work. M$ has decided you cannot be allowed to watch videos without their approval.

  22. nordicattitude
    Monday December 14, 2009 at 11:55 PM

    I had the same problems as above and tried the license transfer, which im sorry to say didn’t work. I did however find an answer! I stumbled across some info on xbox forums. What you do is create a new “dummy silver live account”. Then you download the optional media update AGAIN on this newly created live account. What this does is actually put a new license on your console. I know it sounds kinda dumb, which is what I thought at first, but i didnt when it worked. i am now watching xvid movies OFFLINE. Hope this helps. This problem was a headache for me.

    • Julian
      Monday February 1, 2010 at 3:49 AM

      Yes, for those of you who still have problems viewing downloaded AVI’s and Mpeg’s off of an external hard drive, refer to this!!!!!

      Also, after you create a new silver account, simply select any video off your hard drive, and then accept the prompt to download the media update again…

      After you download it again, sign out of xbox live and attempt to play the video.. Blam!! INSTA VIDEO!!!

      • bigz
        Monday January 3, 2011 at 2:38 AM

        thank you so much, ive been trying to figure this one out forever! this one actually works!

  23. knu
    Wednesday January 6, 2010 at 8:26 AM

    Hi,

    Do I need to connect my XBOX to the PC before i clicked “Start the license transfer process now.” link on that page? as I keep getting this message ”

    Can’t Transfer Licenses

    There are no content licenses associated with this account. To transfer your content licenses, sign in to Xbox.com with the account you used to purchase your content.”

    Please help thanks

  24. BIG AL
    Wednesday January 6, 2010 at 4:09 PM

    i dont have live or any other connection relating at all between my xbox and computer therefore i cant even attempt (tried and failed sadly) the license thing. all i want to do is watch movies from my ipod classic and 2GB usb drive but i get the message saying i have to sign into live (dont have it and never will) and play content again status code 51-C00DF236 or something like that. please help i am ready to sell the system all together and move to alaska or something. maybe i can buy an update in disk form or something from gamestop.

    • Slim
      Tuesday February 9, 2010 at 6:30 PM

      wow, we r both on the same boat, did u get to fix the problem?? :( i reallly need to kno how to get past tht stupid code without live so i can watch my movies again

      • Wednesday February 10, 2010 at 12:40 AM

        I would suggest transcoding media… or taking your xbox to a friends house who has the net and setting up a live account while you are there and doing the license transfer.

        if you have an open ethernet port on your computer, you can use internet connection sharing.. your xbox can connect to the net THRU the pc if its setup correctly, just long enough to setup live and do the license transfer.

        btw, i have a few posts here as Wayne, and I fixed my issue by deletiung the system/video bookmark data on the console in settings, and creating a new profile on live and running the media update again.. the license xfer never worked for me seeing as i’m still on my original console i didn’t think it would.

        now i’m using transcode 360 onn my computer to send all videos to the xbox using wmv format anyway, so even if i hadn’t fixed the problem it would play them natively. but there are all sorts of programs to change the codec used by the movie. hope this helps!

  25. Tuesday January 19, 2010 at 5:56 PM

    Yeah. I am still on my first xbox. after years of watching the same movies, this appeardd a few days ago. No matter what codec, nada. I do not normally connect to live to play movies. However, it’s forcing me to. Mind you, some of these avi’s are the same ones i could play offline two years ago without this message showing. Now for whatever reasonb in the past few days this has changed.

    I signed into live and it updated my console (presumably the fall 2009 dashboard update) as soon as I signed in and i now also have Zune, when I go to m yxbox and want to stream movies from my pc. I remember having to delete a “DRM” folder in the past on XP to get this to work… maybe I’ll try it again..

    Any idea why this just popped up on ME when it had been working so well on this very profile/xbox/media files/configuration/internet connection/everything else?
    Microsoft is really beginning to make me want to throw this thing in thje trash and get a ps3, appletv, etc, or hack it and put something more ‘capable’ and userfriendly on it. PLEASEEE SOMEONE HELP!

  26. Tuesday January 19, 2010 at 6:12 PM

    i did this process and transferred the license… from my old console right back to itself and I STILL cannot play xvid offline ugh… i guess i’ll make a new account and try it that way as suggested above. i call xbox but they barely speak english and are very useless as far as ACTUAL help goes. i spend time explaining, and they never fix it or offer any useful advice. this page has been far more helpoful than their talking in a big dumb circle EVER could be.

    thanks anyway, if anyone has more ideas post a reply here, it will email me back.

    THANKS! pls :)

    • Friday January 22, 2010 at 3:34 PM

      I think the license transfer only works if you’re going from one XBox to another. I don’t think you can do it on the original XBox. You’ve probably got another issue going on.

  27. Wednesday January 20, 2010 at 6:48 PM

    still didn’t do it when creating a new profile on the same old xbox. after downloading the media update, running a video which plays signed into to live, and then turning off xbox and trying to play, it wants me to sign into xbox live to get a media update. i have tried everything mentioned here. if anyone has more ideas, lemme know. i’ve set it to mail me. TYVM!

  28. Saturday January 23, 2010 at 5:16 AM

    the player works now, after fllowing the advice to create a new profile and download/play the media update. i no longer have to be signed in. maybe for some people the profile fix works but i’d suggest creating a new profile entirely, which will reapply the update to the xbox and relicense it’s player.

    i’m still having other issues, such as having to run zunes sharing srvc AND media players sharing srvc AND convert some types of videos in addition to using still other thru vistas media center as if one does not play the file, the other *Might*. if all else fails transcoding is the only option.

    i find the xbox 360 is becoming fairly useless to me as an electronic device and much more of a hassle. i was contemplating throwing it through the window the other night but didn’t. i instead decided to buy a ps3 and if the ps3 is more compatible with my collection without running 3 services to share a few videos and transcoding, i will sell the xbox.

    microsoft needs to wake up and add more formats of video to the xbox. i do not play games on it, only stream video. if it doesn’t do that, i think it’s an expensive paperweight that will soon be obsolete. no browser, nothing useful, to me anyway. if you play games, sure. but it doesn’t even do that as well as the ps3, with it’s multicore cpu, bluray player, built in wireless connection and much larger hdd’s.

    enough ranting. please advise if you know of any hacks to flash the xbox with a media only operating system, ie video player/file sharer/music player/web browser. tyvm for the help!

  29. markiss
    Monday January 25, 2010 at 2:10 PM

    I have solved the offline problems you are all having with playing your movies and not having the right codec for them…firs all you need to do is download any video converer http://www.any-video-converter.com/products/for_video_free/ once you do this you can convert any video from your pc into a wmv. file and save it to a usb drive large enough to hold the file….stick the usb drive in your xbox and play from storage device in the video library page…..have fun with this…

  30. dave
    Monday January 25, 2010 at 10:31 PM

    My xbox is second hand – so how do i transfer the profile liscence over?

    I don’t even know what the original owner used?

    Can i wipe my xbox somehow and create a new profile liscence from scratch?

    Help!

    • Friday January 29, 2010 at 12:19 PM

      same problem here..

  31. Jay
    Tuesday January 26, 2010 at 4:02 AM

    Wow, I was nearing the end of my wits, and stumbled on this site just before giving up. It worked perfectly and I’ve shared it with my brother who’s also on his second console and suffering xboxliveloginitis caused by drm.

    I wanted to thank you, so I searched his url in digg, found an original submission from a year ago, dugg it up and commented.

    Thank you sir. You nailed it.

  32. CJ
    Monday February 8, 2010 at 10:41 PM

    Thank you! I was loosing my mind over this, what a simple fix! Thanks!!

  33. Rob
    Friday February 12, 2010 at 3:58 PM

    Oh my Gosh! Thank You SOOO Much! I was really going crazy for a while as my live connection was acting up all day today. I had actually been dealing with this major annoyance for the last 6 or so months. I can finally watch videos again without having to be constantly signed into Live.

  34. Lukasz
    Tuesday February 16, 2010 at 10:43 PM

    I have a modded xbox, i do not want to play on xbox live or anything, how can i get around this issues?? is there no firmware flash? or dash upgrade that will get past this? it sounds to me that you all have a legit xbox, but lots of us have 360’s just as a media station to play movies, any help?

  35. Thursday February 18, 2010 at 12:41 AM

    Sell the modded 360 and replace it with an xbmc original xbox. i’m so sick of this 360 and i use it just like you Lukasz, for movies only. and it just keeps getting more useless every day.

    another idea is use transcode 360 and set it to ALWAYS TRANSCODE into wmv format.. if all else fails the 360 will natively play wmv files..

    if you figured out how to mod you can use transcode 360 in a snap, it’s so easy. just setup your sharing folders, add youtube and hulu channels you like (if ya want, there is also other online media you can add, pretty much any type of online media!) and it will play everything. flv, mov, avis that wont normally play, mp4, m4v, etc.. it’s so much better that way.

    i was ready to toss the xbox until i found transcode 360, it saved the shitbox’s life!

  36. Jimex
    Monday February 22, 2010 at 4:55 AM

    Thanks very much for the explanation. I’m on my 4th Xbox now and the license transfer page showed I had licenses here there and everywhere. All been transferred to my current 360 (and hopefully last) and it worked straight away. Looking at the comments I think a few people are getting confused when the website says ‘go to setting > account management > previous downloads and redownload files’, you do NOT need to do this to get the media update working offline, just transfer the licenses, sign off and it should work fine.

  37. Bro
    Wednesday March 3, 2010 at 11:39 PM

    Thanks bro. Helped me out. FOr some reason, Divx couldn’t play, even though WMV could. Transferred my shit and now it works perfect. Thanks

  38. Kimbo
    Sunday March 7, 2010 at 12:22 PM

    I’ve had nothing but problems with my XBOX and its greedy arrogant manufacturer. I’ve finally come up with the only solution that works. I’ve taken the XBOX and thrown it from the 22nd floor apartment onto the top of the car park below me. Then, just to make sure, I’ve driven a stake through its heart while wearing a crucifix around my neck, and then burned it and scattered the ashes in all four different directions, while chanting Indian funeral rites. Hopefully that evil shitbox will stay dead.

  39. Macklehat
    Saturday April 3, 2010 at 10:29 PM

    I found this brief article very straight forward and easy to follow. Unfortunately it did not solve my problem. Why? not because the article had flaws, but because Microsoft does NOT allow you to perform this “license tranfer” crap more than once a year. How do they expect to keep up with the 360 failure occurrences by restricting you to once a year. A am on my 3rd xbox in 4 yrs. The last failure was last Sept, so now I have to wait till then to eleiminate these nuisance steps of signing in every time my kid wants to watch Nemo. These crappy 360’s always fail just after the warranty expires. Now I’m stuck not being able to watch movies through my USB drive connected to the xbox unless signed in to XBL. What a pain!

  40. Wednesday April 7, 2010 at 3:58 AM

    Faced with so many different sony converters, i am very confused to choose a favorite one. Several days ago, my bosom friend recommended me one named Sony Converter, which is multifunctional but easy to operate. I would like to share it with you to resolve your same problem. What is more, i found other good ones. List here at your service.
    Sony Walkman Video Converter|| Sony XPERIA Video Converter||
    Sony PSP Video Converter

  41. ky
    Thursday April 8, 2010 at 9:29 PM

    okay so this is my first xbox righht? elite. i put boondock saints file on my mp3 (works like a flash drive, plays just fine). it wont play at my house. that error code pops up, right? okay, download update. i go to my friends,(take the entire system first and another time then just hard drive) sign in to live, get silver, and the media download. plays fine. movie works. i take it home it says i have to download the media update. ive done this three dayys in a row to all week. im seriously considering smashing my xbox. what is the matter and PLEASE help me

  42. flm
    Monday April 12, 2010 at 12:45 PM

    This issue appeared after Microsoft replaced my dead xbox with a new one.
    I followed the instructions and found the patch to play divx in the game section. I redownloaded it and it solved the issue. Brilliant. Thanks.

  43. jamin
    Tuesday April 13, 2010 at 6:27 PM

    Didn’t work for me. After transferring the license I still get the error message when trying to play an AVI offline. F8ck you Microsoft. Time to get a PS3.

  44. discountassassin
    Saturday May 1, 2010 at 6:50 PM

    genius – worked a treat, although make sure you go to settings\account management, and re-download the licence. thanks again.

  45. pantasa
    Sunday May 2, 2010 at 3:58 AM

    I purchased recently a new xbox 360 elite. When I tried to plug and play movies from my FAT32 HDD this error is popping. Is there any solution to this one without connecting to XBL?I don’t have Internet connection in our house. Though, if there is any update that is needed, I can save it in my USB and update my console. Can somebody please help. I’ve tried to ask Microsoft people but they aren’t giving direct solutions. Please help me.

  46. Paul
    Sunday May 2, 2010 at 12:13 PM

    thanks for this – worked a treat!

  47. flip0ut7
    Thursday May 6, 2010 at 9:41 PM

    you are a fucking life saver bro honestly thank you so much…idk why xbox is so fucking dumb like this but you helped so much man thanks alot

  48. Lee
    Thursday May 13, 2010 at 4:45 PM

    Thank you so much for this! Out of all the search results for this problem you are the only person to get it right! Amazing. Thanks again!

  49. mike
    Tuesday June 1, 2010 at 9:58 AM

    i agree with all you have said but i think you are being a little too soft with your comments about microsoft. the fact of the matter is that they are evil scumbags who will not rest until they have raped you of all that you own and have an even tighter grip round the neck of everyone on the planet. why are people still giving them cash? there has been a far superior operating system for use on you pc for years. I implore you people to leave the overpriced, virus filled, sluggish, closed source, useless world of microsoft windows and join the FREE, faster more helpfull, virus free, friendly. open source world of Linux. download ubuntu for free today and stick two fingers up to the nazis i mean microsoft.

  50. Mamar
    Saturday June 5, 2010 at 8:16 PM

    Great, tried it and it worked :)

  51. Furqan
    Tuesday June 8, 2010 at 2:48 AM

    Any hacking for tht.. Coz i cant purchase it.. :)

  52. BIG AL
    Monday July 12, 2010 at 11:27 AM

    WOW! the WMV format thing worked. all i did was use any video converter to convert almost any format to wmv then i could watch it off a flashdrive no problem. i have an entire movie that works.

  53. pete smith
    Wednesday August 18, 2010 at 10:13 AM

    You absolute legend. Well done for finding this – it’s been annoying the crap out of me that when my broadband drops out, I can’t watch videos. Top notch.

  54. Tam
    Sunday September 12, 2010 at 2:04 PM

    time to get a pop corn hour top box and drop this shitty device that claim to replace a PC and a media center.

  55. Flatdogs
    Thursday September 23, 2010 at 5:47 PM

    Hi we dont have xbox live in our country and i also would like to enjoy divx files from my external drive. Is there any way that this “optional media update” can be loaded other than being connected to xbox live? I cant even download it from http://www.xbox.com it says “this page is not available” my consol does not have marketplace or whatever it is called.

    • Tuesday November 30, 2010 at 6:25 PM

      I think you’ve only got one other option available to you. You’ll need someone who has a working XBox with the codecs installed. You’ll need a data transfer cable to send the information from their hard drive to yours.

      Keep in mind that I’m not 100% sure that this will even work, as I think these codecs only work on the XBox they were installed on. It may be worth a shot if you’re really looking to use your XBox to view movies.

  56. magika
    Tuesday October 19, 2010 at 5:24 PM

    thank you very much my hard rocking amigo
    you have just saved me from smashing an xbox

  57. Hack
    Tuesday November 16, 2010 at 9:02 AM

    I am currently deployed to Kabul Afganistan and I am getting this Error for the first time in 5 months of Xbox 360 usage. My team and I all have personal hard drives that are loaded with movies / tv shows / and anything else you can think of :P, it worked just fine until we bought COD:Black Ops, now we get this error code… our Xbox has never been plugged into the internet since getting here 5 months ago and we have no plans to do so. I’ve scoured for codec’s or updates required to play our vast library with no success. My eyes are bleeding from reading so much >< lol.

    – Any thoughts?

    • Tuesday November 30, 2010 at 6:13 PM

      I wouldn’t think that Black Ops has anything to do with it. What may be a problem is if you’ve switched hard drives. I’m not absolutely certain, but I think that each codec is only usable on the XBox that it was originally installed on. They are associated with the machine ID of the system. So, if you’re trying to play movies that are on someone else’s hard drive, it may not work on your XBox. Your only option, I believe, is to connect to XBox Live and download the codecs again.

  58. jhr cronos
    Monday November 22, 2010 at 3:59 PM

    My xbox360 was working just fine, but some months ago it tried to update automatically, but i couldn’t because the hard drive didn’t have enought space.

    But… i discovered that the stupid thing erase my video codecs!!! Why the update would do that?? Now i cannot conect to xbox live because. Is there any way to get the codecs form somewhere, use a usb an copy in the xbox??

  59. sss
    Wednesday December 15, 2010 at 6:53 PM

    This didn’t work for me. This is damn frustrating.

  60. AmandaMcmillan
    Friday December 31, 2010 at 12:31 PM

    Please can anyone help me? i bought a xbox 360 elite slim 250gb for my sons (age 8 and 11) for christmas. i wanted the larger memory so that i could save their movies and games to the xbox because young kids are not great at keeping up with disks and they get scratched and ruined. i also have a lot of movies that i have downloaded in AVI. I know absolutely nothing about xbox. have never played one. and im not very knowledgable with computers. Can someone please tell me how i can save my sons games and kid movies to their xbox? i dont want to ever use xbox live for gaming or chat or whatever.. but can i buy games from it? or is it easier/cheaper to buy them from game stores or online? What is the point of having a 250gb memory if i cant save anything to it? Please…any info is appreciated.

  61. EE_Bob
    Saturday January 1, 2011 at 5:42 PM

    Thank you so very much for posting this. Had this problem for years. It’s all fixed now!!! (Launch 360 died was replaced by a refurb from MS)

  62. Luke Davids
    Tuesday January 11, 2011 at 8:28 AM

    Hi … I am getting this error on my Xbox 360, but I have not previously owned an Xbox.

    The update does not seem to download here in South africa.

    Do you have any other suggestions?

    • Ryan
      Wednesday January 19, 2011 at 5:22 AM

      I think we are in the same boat. I cannot seem to download that update.

      Perhaps it’s a DRM thing — kinda like not being able to buy MP3s from Amazon with a SA credit card.

      If that is the case then I guess it just reconfirms that Open Source is the way forward and that one should steer clear of closed source gobshytes like MS.

    • Ender
      Thursday May 26, 2011 at 9:21 PM

      You can download Xbox updates in a pen drive and plug it into the console if you don’t have internet access. That’s an easy way to circumvent that, probably.

  63. luxit
    Saturday January 29, 2011 at 3:07 AM

    i have a new xbox and i didnt had any xbox before but i still have this problem

  64. ticaleb
    Thursday February 17, 2011 at 1:36 PM

    i have always had the same xbox, my avi videos from my external HDD always worked, i never used live, until recently when i bought Halo ODST and it came with an update that i had to install in order to play the game. since that update, i cant play my avis and divxs. i no longer have access to a computer and live is not an option. i have tried several things however, i am going to try one last thing. since my xbox played these videos pre-ODST, and fuck that game anyway, i have configured a thumb drive to work as a memory unit for the xbox and i am going to transfer all game saves and profiles from the xbox hard drive to the thumb drive. i am then going to format the xbox harddrive and hope that it deletes all updates except for the original dashboard that played my files once upon a time. who really knows? any suggestions or stories of people in same situation and having done same process with success/failure, please let me know. i might have to chock this one up.

  65. Dekian
    Thursday February 17, 2011 at 10:57 PM

    I’m having the same problem but this is still my “Xbox A” I just can’t connect to my network.

    side note: I first got Xbox live while I lived away and now I moved back home I can’t connect to the network. I’m wondering if because my IP address changed my Xbox 360 isn’t letting me connect to my new network.

    PS: I tried every step I could find short of connecting directly into the modem because it’s in my parent’s room.

  66. richard liquin
    Tuesday February 22, 2011 at 2:08 PM

    You are a badass, i was ready to punch Bill Gates in the face

  67. Joey
    Thursday March 17, 2011 at 5:02 PM

    Very good steps, Thank you!

  68. Joe
    Friday June 10, 2011 at 4:49 PM

    Thank you so much. Now why the fuck didn’t Microsoft tell us this instead of some generic error code?????????????????????????????????

    • Friday July 1, 2011 at 11:58 PM

      Doesn’t make much sense, does it?? Like we’re supposed to know what “51-C00DF236” means… It’s so apparent by that particular series of letters and numbers, right?

  69. erin
    Sunday June 12, 2011 at 5:36 PM

    thanxxx a mill legend microsoft can go die

    • Michael
      Friday July 8, 2011 at 2:55 PM

      Hi guys, I know how to update and everything, but the only problem is whe playing a video file, it shows the 51-COODF236 code and while singed into xbox live with my silver account, I try to update it update doesn’t respond! help will be appreciated

  70. Monday August 8, 2011 at 3:06 AM

    OK, all I can say is wow… I would not have thought of this in about 570 million years. Thanks for fixing my problem!

  71. joe johnson
    Sunday August 28, 2011 at 12:15 AM

    this only works if you u have xbox live account or your xbox is connected to the net how do you fix the problem without xboxlive

  72. Thursday October 6, 2011 at 4:14 PM

    I guess I’m slower on some things than others.

  73. Mike
    Friday October 21, 2011 at 5:49 PM

    Wow – stumbled across this and it’s exactly what I’m looking for. My 360 sees more use as a media player than anything else these days, and the kids couldn’t watch any of their films of my external HDD when our internet connection was faulty for a few days. Great info, thank you!

  74. Chris.IronMind
    Wednesday November 30, 2011 at 1:44 AM

    I get this error but I have never been online on my xbox. How do you fix this if you don’t have an Xbox Live account because you can’t connect your xbox to the internet? am I doomed to never watch videos on my xbox because of this?

    • Adam
      Tuesday February 28, 2012 at 6:47 PM

      You’ll have to find a friend/family member with internet access to hook your xbox up to.

  75. Curt
    Monday June 11, 2012 at 2:58 AM

    I could use a hand. Have an old xbox… Tried to play m4v on a flash drive. Works on the new one no problem. So I hauled the old xbox upstairs to update it. Once I downloaded my live account, I was able to download the optional media update… and it played perfectly. Took the xbox back downstairs… Nothing. Need to install update it tells me.

    The weird part is that once I took the old xbox BACK up to try to reinstall, it works while signed into xbox live… Works after I’ve signed out… Even works when the internet cable is removed… But after restarting it will not work again. What am I missing?

    • Tuesday June 12, 2012 at 8:42 PM

      Once the XBox has determined that you signed into XBox Live, you can watch the videos until the power is turned off. Otherwise, you have to transfer your license back onto the old XBox. But, I think you have to wait like 120 days or something to do that.

      If you want to watch videos on the old XBox, you have to sign in to XBox Live first.

  76. Tim
    Monday March 4, 2013 at 7:55 PM

    thank you !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  77. Friday March 22, 2013 at 1:55 AM

    thank u so much, i re-licensed the xbox and re-downloaded the optional media update and it worked just fine OFFLINE. thanks again for everyones input and help

  78. tayler
    Monday April 22, 2013 at 10:43 AM

    dude you are my hero. to bad it still didnt work. ill keep trying and see if i cant get it to work but thank you.

  79. Fred
    Sunday July 26, 2015 at 7:21 PM

    Thank you for this important piece of info. Like you said it would be great if it told you about it to save countless hours of anger. Fixed my problem 100% and it was easy. Thanks again.

  1. Saturday March 6, 2010 at 3:03 PM

Tell Me What You Think...

