Home > All, Conversations, Hacks/Tricks, Internet, Technology, Television > “We Provide This Facility On Our Boxes But Do Not Support It”

“We Provide This Facility On Our Boxes But Do Not Support It”

This was the response I got today while chatting with a Time Warner Cable Tech Support person concerning their Scientific Atlanta Explorer 8000HD DVR set top box. The box has dual FireWire (IEEE-1394) ports on the back for exporting your DVR recordings.

The problem I’ve got is that these ports are not functioning. I connect the FireWire cable to my laptop and nothing happens. Most sites that deal with this say that when you connect the cable, your computer should recognize the new hardware. No such luck here. So, I decided to contact Time Warner Cable for some more assistance. Here’s how the conversation went…

TWC Tech: Could you please elaborate on the issue?

Me: Ok. I have the Explorer 8000HD set top box. It has FireWire 1394 ports on the back for exporting your DVR recordings. I can’t connect.

Me: On the diagnostics screen for the box, it says  “1394:Unavailable.”

TWC Tech: The connectors or unable to transfer your data?

Me: I guess I’m not sure how to use the port. Can’t I just use a FireWire cable and hook it to my computer?

TWC Tech: I apologize for the inconvenience.

TWC Tech: I would be happy to assist you.

TWC Tech: We do not support the DVR recording transfer on the support.

TWC Tech: Not troubleshoot this issue.

TWC Tech: It is possible to transfer your recordings from the box, but we do not support that box feature.

TWC Tech: I am very sorry, I could not help you on this issue.

TWC Tech: Is there anything else apart from this, I can help you with today?

Me: I’m not sure I understand. The box is capable of doing this?

TWC Tech: It is considered to be illegal to record and write data, hence we provide this facility on our boxes but do not support it.

TWC Tech: Please visit this link for DVR faq’s/

TWC Tech: http://www.timewarnercable.com/CentralNY/site.faqs/Cable

TWC Tech: Is there anything else I can help you with today?

Me: I don’t think so. Just one final question. Is the 1394 port actually disabled on the box, or you just don’t offer support if it isn’t working?

TWC Tech: The port is not blocked.

TWC Tech: Is there anything else I can help you with today?

Me: No. That’s all.

TWC Tech: Have a great weekend!

TWC Tech: Again my name is *****. Thank you for chatting with Time Warner Cable. We value you as a customer and are here to assist you 24 hours a day, 7 days a week.

TWC Tech: Analyst has closed chat and left the room.

So this is what I’m left with. They offer the capability, but don’t give you any help if anything goes wrong with it. Why have the ports on there, and claim that it works, yet not back up those claims?

I’m not sure where to go from here. Some sites say that you can’t transfer your video from the FireWire port, and some sites say it’s completely simple to do.

If you’ve got any information you could pass along, feel free to leave a comment. I’m sure there are a lot of people who are frustrated with this situation.

Read a book. It’s good for you.

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Tell Me What You Think...

