Home > All, Blogging, Life, Movies, Music > No, I’m Not Gone

No, I’m Not Gone

It’s been a while since I’ve written anything here. Just been busy with other things. I do have a couple things in the works right now, though. Never fear!

The first thing I’m working on, which I’m pretty excited about is Rachmaninoff’s 3rd Piano Concerto. Yeah, no kidding… insane. If you don’t know what I’m talking about, watch the movie “Shine.” Best movie ever, in my opinion – and it also happens to be a true story. Here’s a video from that movie. The main character (David Helfgott) stumbles into a restaurant only to baffle the customers at his skill in playing Rimsky-Korsakov’s “Flight Of The Bumblebee.”

In Shine, David (aside from all of the other things going on in the movie) finally learns the “Rach 3,” Rachmaninoff’s 3rd Piano Concerto, after spending his life studying it. This kind of gives you an idea of what I’m tackling here.

There are many videos on YouTube of people playing parts of it… my favorite is the Cadenza (Ossia). Here’s one of my favorite videos…

I’m not tackling the Rach 3 all at once. For anyone familiar with the piece, and who has the sheet music (in particular, the Schirmer’s Library version), you’ll notice that it’s conveniently broken into sections; 79 sections to be exact. I will be studying it on a section by section basis… in no particular order.

If all goes well, I plan on putting the videos of each section that I learn on my YouTube page. They’ll probably be titled “The Rach 3 Project” or something like that.

I’m starting with section 10, for anyone who has the sheet music. It is, in my opinion, the most beautiful melody in the whole piece. I’d considered taking on the Cadenza (Ossia), but right now, it’s looking pretty intimidating. I’ll leave it for later… probably much later.

The other thing I’m working on is a skepticism piece on 9/11 Conspiracy Theorists. While it focuses on the 9/11 Conspiracy Theory, it’s also on why you can’t have an honest debate with someone who’s a “True Believer.” Someone who believes something regardless of evidence to the contrary.

I don’t want to reveal too much now, but just know that these things are in the works.

To conclude… read a book. It’s good for you.

Categories: All, Blogging, Life, Movies, Music
  1. Tuesday July 1, 2008 at 1:31 PM

    You’re a musician?

    Saaaaaay, GodKillzYou… I have some friends who are interested in recording a musical over the internet, and we need, at the very least, a piano player. Interested?

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Tell Me What You Think...

