Home > All, Internet, Media, Music, Science, Skepticism > The Foo Fighters And HIV Denial [Update]

The Foo Fighters And HIV Denial [Update]

As you could probably tell from my previous post regarding the Foo Fighters and HIV Denial, I was pretty upset to hear about what I thought was going on with the band.

In keeping with honesty and integrity, I have to suspend my suspended “fan-ship” of the Foo Fighters. You could say that I’m in limbo as of right now. This could possibly be some very good news as far as the band’s stance on HIV Denial.

I’d posted an inquiry on the Foo Fighters’ message board concerning this issue. I’d found out that the page I referenced in my previous post was actually an “old” page from their site design a few years ago. If you actually follow the links on their Official site, the Community page does not list Alive & Well as one of their “Causes.”

One person I exchanged messages with on the message board said…

…that is an old page that hasn’t been removed from the site for some reason. If you notice it’s the old style of the website, the rest of the site here doesn’t look anything like that – www.foofighters.com and the community page no longer has that link.

It just seems to be an error on the part of the webmaster not removing that page when the site was redesigned, and you are still seeing it on Google searches.

So in short, yes the link was there up to around September 2007, but now it isn’t unless you find that page you linked through Google.

So, this looks like it could be good news.

I’ve written an email to the webmaster of FooFighters.com today…

As a concerned fan, I had recently been made aware that the Foo Fighters have (or had) supported an organization called Alive & Well… an HIV Denialist group.

From what I’ve been hearing, the band no longer supports this group. This is strange because on your (supposedly old) Official Causes page, the group is still listed.

If possible, could you send me some additional information as to whether the band actually supports the denial of HIV causing AIDS, or if this page just happened to not get deleted by some accidental oversight? This is very important as I would choose not to support the band any longer if they do actually agree with the nonsense that Alive & Well propagates.

This page is actually the first to show up on a Google search. So if it is not the band’s official stance, this page should definitely be deleted.

Thank you for your time.
David

So, as with all the other Foo Fans out there, I hope very much that the band has actually changed their stance on this issue. It would be sad if they really believed in this nonsense. Hopefully I get a response soon.

On a lighter note… this is officially my 200th post!! Awesome.

Read a book.

  1. Saturday May 31, 2008 at 7:21 PM

    David, I am so glad I found you since you are capable of making comments about people you don’t even know,thats right! people you don’t even know.

    The very first place I found you was on Aarons (myspace)page, that’s right! your buddy Aaron at Myspace and I found it about a half hour to improv to see that both of you are involved in some type of ‘Geek-ism”.(religion)

    Geeks just slandered across both of your pages and I found it all too boring.

    What I find interesting is the fact that you seem to be some self styled[cough] lay person when all you do whine about everybody elses oppinions and or belief systems.

    Nobody wants to be you David get over it!

    as far as your political denialistic approach to HIV I am confused, because you have posted that you’re an Atheist and Atheists ‘deny’ God/demigod’s don’t you find this contradicting?

    C’mon Atheists are in denial or should we call it “God deniers”? “God Denial”?

    and for the love of christ do I need to destroy my favorite Marylin Manson CD and Nine Inch nails CD just because those guys are Atheists?

    Should I create a website trashing anyone who professes to be an Atheist?

    Just so you know within the HIV ‘Dissident/Rethinking movement there are Atheists,Christians,Agnostics etc ..

    RethinkingAIDS.com

    One more thing your Buddy Aaron did not represent the facts if you look at his blog all you see is one lumped together series of posts and emails (much like the CDC CONstruct of AID$)from he and I.

    Political Denialists such as you two are too common but I am glad you guys post this crap because most people can see the transparency of it all…

    hint…when you post blogs with titles such “HIV denial” “Denialists” “HIV denial” “HIV Atheism” then you are ONLY helping us because people want to know what your whining about so they go Look. Thanks!

    here is a little tidbit for you to read from the founder of Alive and Well

    (“Christine Maggiore doesn’t stand a prayer with the ATHEISTS”)

    http://www.rethinkingaids.com/challenges/Maggiore-Atheists.html

    Ciao! dude
    Tomás

  2. Saturday May 31, 2008 at 7:47 PM

    Well, Tomas… be pre-warned. This critique of your comment will be full of ad hominems, because you deserve it for being an idiot.

    The very first place I found you was on Aarons (myspace)page, that’s right! your buddy Aaron at Myspace and I found it about a half hour to improv to see that both of you are involved in some type of ‘Geek-ism”.(religion)

    Geeks just slandered across both of your pages and I found it all too boring.

    If you consider science a “geekism,” then yes, you are correct. If you think that requiring evidence before accepting a claim is a “Geekism,” then yes, you are right.

    And the reason you found my (and Aaron’s) content boring is because you have a weak grasp on reality, as evidenced by your apparent lack of understanding as to what HIV and AIDS are.

    What I find interesting is the fact that you seem to be some self styled[cough] lay person when all you do whine about everybody elses oppinions and or belief systems.

    Isn’t it part of being a human being? Having an opinion? Apparently you’re just pissed because I don’t share your opinion.

    Nobody wants to be you David get over it!

    You must have some type of complex. When did I ever say I thought people wanted to “be me.” All I’ve ever promoted was a public understanding of science… and you, apparently, don’t want that. You want everyone to accept your claims without evidence. Just take your (honest?) word for it?

    as far as your political denialistic approach to HIV I am confused, because you have posted that you’re an Atheist and Atheists ‘deny’ God/demigod’s don’t you find this contradicting?

    C’mon Atheists are in denial or should we call it “God deniers”? “God Denial”?

    There’s nothing “political” about requiring evidence before accepting claims. And, to address your non sequitor logical fallacy… what in the hell does belief in God have to do with AIDS and HIV denial? Did you forget your meds?

    and for the love of christ do I need to destroy my favorite Marylin Manson CD and Nine Inch nails CD just because those guys are Atheists?

    Should I create a website trashing anyone who professes to be an Atheist?

    Where did this come from? Now you’re attacking Atheists? I thought the purpose of this comment was to call me a fool for requiring evidence before I believe in HIV denial?

    Just so you know within the HIV ‘Dissident/Rethinking movement there are Atheists,Christians,Agnostics etc ..

    Ah yes, the argument from authority. You propose that I accept HIV denial because of the “type of people who accept it.” Not because of the evidence presented. How moronic of you.

    One more thing your Buddy Aaron did not represent the facts if you look at his blog all you see is one lumped together series of posts and emails (much like the CDC CONstruct of AID$)from he and I.

    Political Denialists such as you two are too common but I am glad you guys post this crap because most people can see the transparency of it all…

    hint…when you post blogs with titles such “HIV denial” “Denialists” “HIV denial” “HIV Atheism” then you are ONLY helping us because people want to know what your whining about so they go Look. Thanks!

    here is a little tidbit for you to read from the founder of Alive and Well

    And to conclude… I still find it funny that you call this a “political” issue. It’s science. Why not just call gravitation a “political issue?” Why not say that Calculus is part of a vast Republican conspiracy?

    To sum this up, your comment is vastly incoherent, filled with spelling errors (maybe HIV just leads to bad spelling and grammar?), and littered with logical fallacies.

    I’m really not even sure why I wasted my time approving this comment, and then summarily destroying it.

    Maybe you wrote this comment because you’re still pissed that I denied your friend request on MySpace the first time.

    And you can stop leaving your little rants on my posts because I’m not approving any more of them. You’re obviously not interested in debate. All you’re interested in is insulting people… and that does a lot worse for your cause than anything I could say about your nonsense.

  3. Robert Walden
    Sunday January 11, 2009 at 6:12 PM

    To Tomas, have you noticed yet that the founder of Alive and Well, after offering the robust health of herself and her daughter as evidence for her theories, is now Dead and Buried? So is the poor child? Believing a oncoming train won’t hurt you doesn’t really change the reality: once the train has passed, all that’s left behind is a pancake-shaped moron.

  4. Sunday January 11, 2009 at 6:22 PM

    Tomas, Robert is right. You can spout off all you want about “conspiracies” and “big pharma.” The simple fact is we are now chalking more bodies for the HIV denialist crowd.

    While sob stories and anecdotes abound about how HIV doesn’t cause AIDS and all that nonsense, and while that may influence people emotionally… there’s another body in the ground serving as evidence that it does.

    The sad part is that this will deter no one. The HIV deniers will go on spewing their nonsense as if this woman never lived. A victim of her own denial. And no one on the HIV denial side will learn from her mistakes.

    And what a disservice to humanity anyone who continues this HIV denial is doing.

  5. Tony
    Wednesday July 15, 2009 at 7:19 PM

    “The simple fact is we are now chalking more bodies for the HIV denialist crowd.”

    care to cite that? Guess what bud… There are poz people around you in all corners of life, and you’ll never know their identities because its none of your business, and they will live long, healthy lives and die normally, never have taken an hiv pill in their life.

    I know nearly 20 people personally, who’ve are healthier than you, living with a poz status over 20 years, and are still treatment naive.

    I’m sorry, but a doctor doesn’t get the right to predict death in a healthy person.

    • Wednesday July 15, 2009 at 8:42 PM

      Tony,

      Speaking of citing things, would you care to cite your sources for your statement that…

      “There are poz people around you in all corners of life, and you’ll never know their identities because its none of your business, and they will live long, healthy lives and die normally, never have taken an hiv pill in their life.

      This is nothing but an anecdote with no documentation to support it. I’m supposed to just take your word for it.

      Speaking of anecdotes and stories…

      I know nearly 20 people personally, who’ve are healthier than you, living with a poz status over 20 years, and are still treatment naive.

      I’m sorry, but a doctor doesn’t get the right to predict death in a healthy person.

      First of all, you’re assuming that you know my medical history when you say that you know 20 people “who are healthier than you.” I’m not sure how you could know something like that, but it doesn’t add anything to any points you are trying to make. It only makes you sound ignorant.

      I would also note that someone who is HIV positive would not live for 20 years without treatment, and can only assume that this is a lie without some type of medical documentation.

      By the tone of your comment, it sounds like you’re pretty emotionally wrapped up in your conclusions and wouldn’t change your mind if you wanted to. That’s the difference between science and pseudoscience. When someone adheres to the scientific method, they’re completely willing to change their mind, to allow their conclusions to match the evidence.

      When someone such as yourself, who has faith in a conclusion, reaches such a point of view, there is nothing that anyone can show you which will convince you that you could possibly be wrong.

      And as for your last statement,

      I’m sorry, but a doctor doesn’t get the right to predict death in a healthy person.

      I can only assume that you believe having HIV is a property of a healthy individual. That is delusional thinking. HIV is a virus. People with viruses are not healthy.

      I have to admit that I just plain don’t understand the mindset of the HIV denialist crowd. What can possibly be gained from denying something that is so completely obvious, as well as verified completely by modern science? I don’t get it.

      And what’s more is how angry deniers get when someone takes the time to show the evidence against their position. Do you ever see a scientist get angry when his theory is shown to be wrong? No. They embrace it. “Ok, my conclusion is wrong. Let’s keep looking for the answers.”

      The conclusions you’ve arrived at just aren’t rational. But, then again maybe you haven’t looked into the literature. Not on Google. I mean in actual medical journals. Places where the information is actually peer reviewed, with the bullshit filtered out.

      Any whack-job can publish something on the internet. But it takes rigor and strict adherence to the scientific method to get published in the New England Journal Of Medicine. There are no HIV denialist papers in there.

      To sum up this comment, I’d only say that I can’t trust what you’re saying. It’s as simple as that. And you should understand my point of view. You don’t trust anything that has to do with the science in any sense of the word, apparently.

  6. Tony
    Tuesday August 11, 2009 at 1:33 PM

    all humans on earth have plenty of viruses… so i guess by your definition, no one on earth is healthy. As far as me knowing 20 people not on meds for over 20 years, you’ll have to take my word for it. There are support groups all over, where peole tell their story. They have no motive or money to be made by making such claims. I’ve been doing it for 8 years, and my own mom would have no idea by looking at me.

    For you to say, 20 years is impossible, shows that its you, who is uneducated on the topic. Even the most pharma-funded groups will admit there are plenty of people who are considered long-term non-progressors. Its my contention, that ALL hiv+ people are potentially long-term non-progressors.

    You’re talking about peer-reviewed articles. Again… i ask you to cite it. You don’t get to say my message is antedotal, when you are unable to cite anything.

    Go ahead, paste me a link that seems to corroborate the fact that hiv causes aids. In this big internet, it should be pretty easy for you, eh?

    • Friday September 23, 2011 at 5:06 AM

      The stupid. It burns. Okay.. Tony.
      ” Even the most pharma-funded groups will admit there are plenty of people who are considered long-term non-progressors”
      Yes. it depends on (1) where in the genome the retrovirus inserts itself into the host genome. In a non function partition that is only seldom transcribed, the copy rate of the virus is lower. even a moron should be able to understand that, (2) On the virulence of the strain the person is infected with, but wait, you’d actually need to believe in viruses to understand any of this.

      If you’re so sure of the HIV conspiracy, go inject some HIV+ blood into your system. At least there’ll be a little less stupid in the gene pool.

  7. Friday August 14, 2009 at 6:41 PM

    It’s always good to start out with a straw man argument…

    all humans on earth have plenty of viruses… so i guess by your definition, no one on earth is healthy.

    Always follow it up with an anecdote…

    As far as me knowing 20 people not on meds for over 20 years, you’ll have to take my word for it. There are support groups all over, where peole tell their story. They have no motive or money to be made by making such claims. I’ve been doing it for 8 years, and my own mom would have no idea by looking at me.

    It’s not for me to cite sources for denial of a claim. It’s for you to cite sources that are proof positive of your claim. I don’t believe you. So provide evidence to support what you’re saying. Don’t ask me to “prove you wrong.”

    The consensus of the entire scientific, medical community is that HIV causes AIDS. I would challenge you to cite a peer-reviewed article which says otherwise.

  8. sobnola
    Monday April 18, 2011 at 6:21 PM

    So has anyone ever seen an official declaration by the band or those members who were proponents of HIV denialism that they no longer spread lies? HIV is far too serious an issue for any person or group to mislead others with 100% pure BS that they’ve been spouting since the 1980s.

  9. Dan
    Wednesday April 20, 2011 at 8:39 AM

    Funny that I was trying to find the same info via Google and someone had just posted 2 days ago… Anyway, I know this was 3 years ago, but did you ever hear back from the FF webmaster? I can’t bring myself to listen to the new album. It’s one thing to believe something and another entirely to actively spread a message that will result in people denying b/c their favorite band told them not to take their meds.

    Read “Denying AIDS” by Dr. Seth Kalichman. It gives the real picture of the contorted logic used by denialists
    http://www.amazon.com/Denying-AIDS-Conspiracy-Theories-Pseudoscience/dp/0387794751/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1303302989&sr=8-1

    • Wednesday April 20, 2011 at 10:04 AM

      Spurred by SkepticalAtheist’s still unanswered question I posted same on yahoo, where it will probably wither on the vine. see http://tinyurl.com/43zj6p7

      I do see the brilliant logic of the god-denialism argument but as another god-denialist dismiss it as bullpoop.

  10. Friday June 17, 2011 at 12:22 PM

    You are humorous, both of you. Science and Religion are one in the same, using the same bullshit tactics and faulty “facts” of statistics/prophecy to lead others blindly and make money. You are birds of a feather! Wake up. Oh and you can throw Politics into the mix as well! All bullshit.

  11. captainbucko
    Sunday September 18, 2011 at 11:01 AM

    ‘That which can be asserted without evidence, can be dismissed without evidence.’
    ~ Christopher Hitchens

  12. Friday September 23, 2011 at 5:09 AM

    Deferred :
    You are humorous, both of you. Science and Religion are one in the same, using the same bullshit tactics and faulty “facts” of statistics/prophecy to lead others blindly and make money. You are birds of a feather! Wake up. Oh and you can throw Politics into the mix as well! All bullshit.

    Deferred, I get it you don’t understand math, but that doesn’t make science (and it’s testable, falsifiable, and experimentally verified facts) invalid. It does however mean that you are most likely stupid.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Tell Me What You Think...

