Home > All, Hacks/Tricks, Technology, Television > DVI Vs. VGA On An HDTV Monitor

DVI Vs. VGA On An HDTV Monitor

I’ve got a 26″ Magnavox HDTV monitor on my computer, dual screen along with a Westinghouse 22″. I’d had a problem that a lot of people have been having. The HDTV monitor’s picture was very blurry and almost distorted.

As far as connections, my NVIDIA 8800GT card has dual DVI outputs. So, both monitors were hooked up to DVI cables. My original 22″ monitor had a crystal-clear picture. The 26″, on the other hand, had a horrible picture, no matter what resolution or refresh rate I tried. I was beginning to get really frustrated.

Any research that I’d done online seemed to conclude that DVI was a far superior connection compared to VGA – a purely digital connection, compared to an analogue connection (VGA). But, being the skeptic that I am, I was skeptical. This couldn’t possibly be the best connection available. I could barely read the text on the screen.

So, I gave VGA a shot. My video card didn’t actually have a VGA output, so I got a DVI to VGA connector and a 6′ VGA Monitor cable. The cord had to have male connectors on each end in order to accommodate the adapter, as well as plug into the VGA port on the HDTV monitor.

Upon connecting the VGA cable (through the DVI adapter) into the video card, and the other end into the VGA port of the HDTV monitor, I now get an awesome picture. Crystal-clear like the 22″.

So, don’t believe the hype when people say that DVI is far superior to VGA. In some cases, it may be. But, not when it really matters… to me. DVI doesn’t carry vertical sync information.

Read a book.

  1. pcgamingtech
    Sunday February 10, 2008 at 5:08 PM

    yeah you are right when it comes to technology newer isn’t always better!
    Like vista isn’t any better than xp is!

  2. lin
    Wednesday May 14, 2008 at 12:11 PM

    the problem for learning,thank you for sharing

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Tell Me What You Think...

