Home > All, Internet, Rant, Technology > MSN’s Hotmail Sucks!

MSN’s Hotmail Sucks!

MSN’s Hotmail sucks. I’m tired of it. That’s why I’m no longer using my account. In case you’re interested, my email address used to be sk8ter_cool@hotmail.com. That was my first ever email address.

Now, what caused this attitude toward Hotmail? Spam.

Apparently, Hotmail (owned by Microsoft) has a ”Whitelist” of Spammers who are actually allowed to send spam to all of its account holders – as long as these spam messages are “ethically correct.” After paying a $20,000 “fee,” these spammers are allowed to perform what is called a “Dictionary Attack” on Hotmail’s email servers. Then from there, they take the email addresses they obtain and sell them to Spammers worldwide. These Third-Party Spammers don’t have to abide by Hotmail’s “Code Of Ethics” for Spammers because they weren’t obtained directly from Hotmail.

I have my Gmail, TimeWarner and Yahoo email accounts linked to my BlackBerry. Whenever any of these accounts receive mail, it gets delivered directly to my handset. With the drastic amount of spam I receive from my Hotmail account, there’s no chance at all that I would ever link that account to my BlackBerry. It’s not uncommon for me to get 200+ spam messages PER DAY in that account… and that’s with the supposed “Spam Guard” or “Junk Filter” turned on… whatever they call it.

Gmail (service by Google) is awesome. I get maybe 2 spam messages per WEEK in that account. Yahoo is also a lot better than it used to be. I maybe get 3 or 4 spam messages per week.

Now, if this wasn’t bad enough, I’d challenge anyone who has a Hotmail account to try to delete that account. Good luck with that. I gave up by the time I had opened about 9 or 10 sites, all asking me to click on another link in order to cancel my account. The system is so convoluted and misleading.

The easiest way to cancel a Hotmail account is to stop using it.

Here’s what they recommend from that article:

How to Close a Hotmail Account

To close a Hotmail account, stop using it. After thirty days any unused account becomes inactive. After ninety days, the Passport becomes inactive. You can also close your Hotmail account from within the account itself. To do this, follow these steps:

1. Click Help on any Hotmail page.
2. Type Close Account in the keyword search section of the Help screen.
3. Click the Close Your Hotmail Account tip within the Help screen.
4. Click the Close Account link that is highlighted in blue.
5. Read the instructions. When you are satisfied that you understand the terms associated with an account closure, click Close Account.

So, basically Hotmail sucks, and I encourage you all to stop using it.

And just for some more corroborating evidence that they suck, read this. It shows how Microsoft had been strong-arming people into paying for their Hotmail account. Basically saying, “Hey, look what can happen if you don’t start paying for premium service.”

Hotmail sucks.

Read a book.

Categories: All, Internet, Rant, Technology
  1. THOMAS SMITH
    Wednesday November 12, 2008 at 4:16 PM

    I AGREE… THE NEW HOTMAIL SUCKS… I CANCELED MINE ALSO… NOW YOU CAN USE YOUR YAHOO MAIL TO GET ONTO WINDOWS LIVE…

  2. Ken
    Wednesday November 19, 2008 at 2:15 PM

    The delete instructions do not work as system sticks with bits I want saying ‘loading’. They don’t fix as I have reported it ages ago so perhaps it is to stop people deleting their account.

  3. David Williams
    Tuesday February 17, 2009 at 4:56 AM

    I got an email purporting to come from Hotmail saying that my account will be cancelled unless I supply them with information on my password, date of birth, and country registered. i am paying customer of MSN email, which provides the hotmail service. Is this demand from Hotmail a scam, or a means to sell my information to spammers? I need advice urgently, since they say they’ll cancel my account in the next 12 hours.

  4. Tuesday February 17, 2009 at 9:30 AM

    David,
    This email is obviously fake. Aside from checking the email headers to see where it came from, if you’re a paying customer, they already know that information. You had to give it to them in order to pay for your service.

    Do NOT reply back to that email. It is a scam. If you think about it, this is all information that would give whoever sent this email access to your account. Hotmail has no reason for acquiring this info. What would Hotmail need with your password? That is a HUGE red flag!

  5. David Williams
    Tuesday February 17, 2009 at 12:41 PM

    Thanks, godkillzu, for your quikc reply.
    I did also telephone MSN who also said that I should not reply, since it is likely to be a scam.

  6. DarthMan™
    Saturday March 14, 2009 at 3:28 PM

    No Windows Live Messenger 2009 is the best messenger ever seen from all over the world also you can use animated pcitures etc etc etc

    • Saturday March 14, 2009 at 3:35 PM

      I’m not talking about MSN’s Instant Messenger here. I’m talking only of Hotmail… Microsoft’s free (or not) email service.

  7. Tuesday April 21, 2009 at 6:27 AM

    Hotmail can go suck a nut.

    These dim whits are now making it impossible to send emails from certain browsers, like Seamonkey for example.

    The only use for a Hotmail account is a “black hole” spam trap.

  8. Randy
    Thursday October 15, 2009 at 7:04 AM

    My account was hacked. I have tried in vain to validate that “I am who I am,” but there seems to be no relief from hotmail. Pure, filtered, smooth, easy-to-swallow crap is the only thing I can say for hotmail. I am a gmailer now, and with musch satisfaction. If anyone can suggest other methods of regaining my account, please tell. I want to delete it forever!

    ***sigh… they really suck…***

  9. BO
    Saturday September 18, 2010 at 11:57 PM

    Microsoft Hotmail is plain awful! I was hacked also, and there is no one to call for support. I sent my complaint into the ether, hoping for some help, but none has arrived. Now, I have to waste my time rebuilding my contact list with a new e-mail address. I keep a Hotmail account only for a couple of items that are not important. I would NEVER recommend this to anyone unless they were living on an island and it was their only hope for survival! LOL!

  10. TONY ROMA
    Sunday October 24, 2010 at 5:10 PM

    why hotmail sucks

    My wife’s hotmail account was hijacked several days ago. If you expect Microsoft to help get your hijacked hotmail account back via their Recovery Center, you are wasting your time. My advice is to dump your hotmail account. I gave M$ everything piece of information I have that might help recover the account to no avail. I even offered to use my credit card to purchase the paid version of hotmail for MY hotmail account to prove who I am. I told them that I am an MSDN subscriber and even sent them an email from my work email address, and much more, but M$ would not help me. I bet if I was Bill Gates, I would get the account back. In summary, M$ service sucks.

  11. Maxim
    Friday May 4, 2012 at 10:07 AM

    hotmail is so bad im a studen and i have to send somethig to my theacher and my hotmail got hacker wow so it why i think hotmail suck hacker today got no life to hack a hotmail acount cmon let hack a better thing DAMMIT!

  12. lee777
    Thursday June 21, 2012 at 4:24 PM

    I think you are right. The best way to close the account may just be to not use it. I have attempted to close mine a few times and it keeps giving me a “There’s a temporary problem” error. Apparently they want you to sign up for an account but don’t want you to close it. My other hotmail account ended up blocked. It was an account that I have had for years and may have sent only about 2 dozen emails from. I have jumped through hoops trying to get my account unblocked and my emails back with no success. DON’T USE MSN HOTMAIL……it is unreliable, has poor security, no tech support, poor customer service and frankly don’t no what the heck they are going.

  13. michelle
    Monday June 3, 2013 at 8:14 PM

    Yeah, innovation for innovation’s sake is a losing proposition. When you have something that has weathered the test of time and you suddenly replace it with something as crappy and childish as outlook.com you are saying to your customers, we don’t care about you any longer. You can’t go back to the old interface (like yahoo offered) and the new interface is slow, hogs my CPU and browser and jumps all over the place making it a confusing mess. Oh ye, that transition effect when you send an email is cool, but I don’t need or want it. Even when they fix the bugs I won’t be staying around long enough to use it, email is email and should be quick, simple and effective – outlook.com is none of those. Microsoft loses the plot yet again, first with developer platforms, Metro, runtime environment, dropping .Net and now with it’s core email users. Dunno what to think, but I’m going to google, after dropping Yahoo recently and now Hotmail. Bye bye microsoft. You are a dinosaur in a modern age and I won’t be inconvenienced by you.

  14. irishman3876
    Monday September 29, 2014 at 11:21 AM

    msn sucks tell all

  15. irishman3876
    Monday September 29, 2014 at 11:45 AM

    u are right tell all msn sucks big babies

  16. irishman3876
    Monday September 29, 2014 at 11:46 AM

    right on they do suck

  17. b
    Monday January 5, 2015 at 12:58 AM

    MSN everything SUCKS!!!! Never had issues with computer until the damn home page wouldn’t come off..now viruses…slow…don’t use

  18. glen gutscher
    Monday August 3, 2015 at 12:07 PM

    how can one site be so bad

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Tell Me What You Think...

