Home > All, Essential, Media, Rant, Religion, Science, Skepticism > Jerry Falwell Is Dead… Thank God! ["Noah’s Ark" Refuted]

Jerry Falwell Is Dead… Thank God! ["Noah’s Ark" Refuted]

The end of an era? I hope so. Jerry Falwell. The man who epitomized religious zealotry. The televangelist who preached hatred under the guise of Christianity.

He had this to say following 9/11:

“The abortionists have got to bear some burden for this because God will not be mocked. And when we destroy 40 million little innocent babies, we make God mad. I really believe that the pagans, and the abortionists, and the feminists, and the gays and the lesbians who are actively trying to make that an alternative lifestyle, the ACLU, People for the American Way — all of them who have tried to secularize America — I point the finger in their face and say ‘you helped this happen.”

This is the guy who claimed that one of the “Teletubbies” is homosexual.

“He is purple — the gay-pride color, and his antenna is shaped like a triangle — the gay pride symbol.”

And then his tirade about AIDS:

“AIDS is the wrath of a just God against homosexuals. To oppose it would be like an Israelite jumping in the Red Sea to save one of Pharaoh’s charioteers … AIDS is not just God’s punishment for homosexuals; it is God’s punishment for the society that tolerates homosexuals.”

This man was filled with bigotry and hatred for anyone who was apparently not a white evangelical Christian.

He’s one of those fevered egos that this world is better off without. He represents an attitude in this country that the world is better off without. The Fundamentalist attitude that they are right, and everyone else is wrong because we (the people who aren’t them) don’t take everything the Bible says without questioning it.

As I’ve said many times before, most wars are over who has the better imaginary friend. I, on the other hand, worship the True God, the Flying Spaghetti Monster.

Now, before I get to the “Noah’s Ark” portion of this post, here’s a link to my favorite article about Falwell’s death, and here’s a video interview with the author of that article on Fox News’ “Hannity & Colmes” show. How can these guys consider themselves “Fair & Balanced?”

Now, on to what I think is some important info to go along with the passing of Falwell. What I might call the passing of a false idea. A ridiculous fairytale. This whole idea of “Noah’s Ark.” People actually take this story as truth, as fact, and as something that had actually occurred at some point in history.

I’m not going to go into very much detail about the story, because I think most everyone is at least familiar with it. If you want to refresh your memory, the story can be found in Genesis 6:1 – 9:17.

The part of the story I want you to notice is where “God” describes what size the Ark is to be. Three hundred (300) cubits by fifty (50) cubits – three stories tall. A cubit is approximately 18 inches. It was the measure from the tip of the fingers to the tip of the elbow.

With these measurements, the Ark would have been 101,250 square feet of surface area where two (2) of each animal on Earth were to roam for 40 days and nights – without killing and eating each other.

Here’s the point I want to make. Our planet has over 4 million land animal species. 101,250 square feet calculates out to only 1,250,000 square inches. Even if you were to cut out a single 1” square to represent each species of land animal on Earth, you’d still have to stack those paper squares at least 3 high just to fit them on this Ark, if you were to lay them out edge to edge, covering the entire floor surface. And you still have to take into account that God told Noah to take 2 of each animal on board! That’s 8 million animals.

Just taking into account surface area, each animal would have to be .15625 of an inch just to fit on the Ark. This isn’t accounting for room to actually move around! Just to exist on the Ark, each animal would have to be a fraction of an inch.

It’s just absurd to believe something like that. So many people just take the story at face value and don’t even think about it. “Oh yeah, Noah had an Ark and he took 2 of every animal on board. That’s why we’re here. Because Noah was good in the eyes of God.” No. It’s a story. There’s no actual truth to it. Just like the fact that snakes can’t talk. They have never talked. The Devil didn’t “trick” anyone into eating some fruit.

Try thinking about it. Can you seriously look in your backyard and imagine two naked people standing there, listening to a snake talk about apples? I mean, honestly. It’s ridiculous.

And this is why, my loyal readers, I say it is so important to read a book!

  1. Doug
    Saturday September 8, 2007 at 11:24 AM

    I just happened to run across your blog posts on Noah’s ark with the Jerry Falwell bonus (what an unlikely combination).

    Although I don’t hold the same opinions as you, I do appreciate your attitude of not taking anything at face value. It’s an important human prerogative that many, maybe most, people forget about regardless of their place on any religious, political or social spectrum.

    However, I have to point out that your desire to be a free thinker has been hijacked by your own hubris.

    Regarding Jerry Falwell you said:
    “This man was filled with bigotry and hatred for anyone who was apparently not a white evangelical Christian…He’s one of those fevered egos that this world is better off without.”

    Do you realize that you are exactly the same as him? Change a few words, and who does your quote remind you of?

    “This man was filled with bigotry and hatred for anyone who is apparently not in agreement with him.”

    My point is that your ridicule and total disrespect for those who hold a different view creates a biased mindset that retards critical and philosophical thinking.

    I suggest you unload your stereotypes, bias, and bring an open mind (not gullible) to your analysis of this topic. BTW, this is same I would say for anyone who believes the Bible without any rational.

    If you spend the time to research the big picture, and still come to the same conclusion then you’ll be all the better for it…you will at least not make statements that reveal you really haven’t studied the topic seriously (e.g. 2 of each animal, 8,000,000+ animals, 15 cubits of water covering mountains )

    Here’s someplace you might consider starting for a different perspective: http://www.answersingenesis.org/creation/v19/i2/animals.asp

  2. Saturday September 8, 2007 at 2:00 PM

    First off, I appreciate your comment.

    While I can see the point you are making in regards to my quote about Falwell and I being similar, I think the main difference is that my “hatred and bigotry” is aimed at his hatred and bigotry. If I were to feel otherwise, than you would be implying that I should be accepting of people who are filled with hate and who desire to see others tossed into the fires of Hell. That I should embrace these people.

    Fundamentalist Christians literally pray for the destruction of sinners who refuse to accept Jesus Christ as their savior. While I understand that what I’ve said may be harsh, it is no more harsh than the biting and gnashing of teeth that Christians wish upon their “enemies” to endure. It is far less harsh, to say the least. And these ideas are, I think, probably the biggest hindrances to critical philosophical thinking. In fact, if it were up to Falwell, there would be no philosophical thinking of any kind. If it’s not in the Bible, you can’t think about it, or you’re sinning. You’re questioning “God’s Will.”

    As far as not doing real research, that the site you referred me to (Answers In Genesis) is affiliated with Ken Ham, the man who is involved in the new “Creation Museum.” And in their case, “real research” isn’t quite priority #1 on their list. One of their contentions is that animals arrived all over the world following the flood because they floated on logs, and that’s how they spread across the entire planet. What’s also quite interesting is the painting of the woman standing next to the Raptor, which is feasting on grass. I’m not willing to stretch my imagination that far just to accommodate the Bible. These people are, in fact, “creation scientists,” which means that 1.) they aren’t actually scientists, and that 2.) their only goal is to prove that the Bible is the truth, and any evidence to the contrary is disregarded. Duane Gish (a member of Answers In Genesis) plainly says “I’m not a scientist.” He just believes the Bible, no matter what.

    To conclude my response, I’m glad you took the time to respond to what I’ve written. I agree that some of the things I say may come across as arrogant. But, at the same time, I think it hardly compares to the people I level my criticism at.

  3. Doug
    Saturday September 8, 2007 at 3:31 PM

    Thanks for the dialog.

    I wasn’t clear when I referenced Jerry Falwell…my point had nothing to do with the person of Jerry Falwell (personally, his attitudes and those who have the same disgust me). Nor was I implying that your criticizing of him was necessarily untrue or unfounded. I should of clarified that I don’t hold some of your opinions, namely about the Bible.

    I was suggesting that you and him are the same in regards for your hatred (your word) of those who hold different viewpoints.

    You state that people (that would be practicing Jews and Christians) who don’t hold your personal renditions of the Biblical flood account are “absurd,” “ridiculous,” “idiots.” Your hatred is aimed clearly at Jews and Christians not at the hatred and bigotry of Jerry Falwell and whomever you associate with him.

    I’m suggesting that yours is the exact same type rhetoric that Jerry Falwell used to beat his staw man.

    I’m not sure how to point this out delicately but you come across to me just as bad as he was in his hatred. You’re spinning a fabricated version of what you communicate all Christians believe and condemning Christians in general for the absurdity that you defined for them.

    Case in point, you said about Christians in general, correct me if I’m wrong, in your last reply:

    >They are, “People who are filled with hate and who desire to see others tossed into the fires of Hell.”

    >”Fundamentalist Christians literally pray for the destruction of sinners who refuse to accept Jesus Christ as their savior.”

    >”…biting and gnashing of teeth that Christians wish upon their “enemies” to endure.”

    Whoa! I have to strongly disagree with your definition of a Christian since I am one. And one that you would probably label as a fundamentalist…although I would never take that label for myself since it breeds stereotyping. In fact, your description of me is quite opposite my mindset, nor do I personally know one other Christian who believes or acts according to your definitions.

    In some respects I don’t blame people. It’s human nature to take someone like Jerry Falwell and stereotype all people who are Christians based on him (remember, there are 2 BILLION people in the world who define themselves as Christians!). I have genuine respect for someone like yourself assuming you really are willing to seek truth. If we had a chance to chat over coffee or a beer (sorry to keep blowing your stereotypes :) ) I suspect it would be an engaging and respectful endeavor and we would find a lot of common ground. I can’t say I would have the stomach to do the same with Jerry Falwell if he was alive.

    One last point, you state:
    The Fundamentalist attitude that they are right, and everyone else is wrong because we (the people who aren’t them) don’t take everything the Bible says without questioning it.

    How is this different than your own attitude…do not you say that everyone else is wrong (and an idiot :) ) for not believing what you say? C’mon, be honest :)

    Free thought and free choice are two of the greatest gifts we have as intelligent beings. As a “fundamentalist” Christian I would defend your right to hold your own opinion to my dying breath. Digging in at the extreme of any viewpoint and denying the right of others to hold other views is not just counterproductive to progress, when propagated it can evolve into a group-think epidemic and spawn places like Nazi Germany or Communist Russia.

    OK, sorry for rambling a bit . . . I’ll stop already. I hope you believe me that I regard the expressing of your viewpoints as a good thing and when done with respect can be a very healthy and mutually beneficial exercise.

  4. Doug
    Saturday September 8, 2007 at 3:35 PM

    Ah shoot., I forgot to mention one last thing on your prior reply. You misunderstood/misquoted me . . . I never said you hadn’t done any real research, I said you could start at that site to get a different perspective.

  5. Sunday September 9, 2007 at 5:08 PM

    I appreciate your response. And I see what you mean about sounding similar in a general way, to Mr. Falwell – not in specifics, but in theory.

    Not to beat a dead horse (or straw man, if you like), but I guess the broad and general point throughout this is that there can only be one truth. Either God created everything, or He didn’t. And if the Bible causes me to think that what it’s saying is beyond what is reasonable, then that leads me to disbelieve it. The Bible does claim to be the official Word Of God, after all. And if some of it is found to be untrue, then doesn’t that detract from the whole? Furthermore, the truth cannot be subjective. Some people choose to believe in the Bible… but that doesn’t mean it’s true just because of that fact.

    On a lighter note, this has been an interesting dialog. I will definitely take your opinion into consideration in anything further that I may write. I agree totally that it is everyone’s right to believe in anything that they choose… to think freely. I was only pointing out things that I thought absurd – wrong as I may be. But, I will in the future try to be, how should I say, a little more accommodating to different points of view.

    I appreciate your input, and welcome any further comments on anything written herein.

  6. Wednesday November 5, 2008 at 2:03 PM

    THIS IS ALL THAT IS IMPORTANT ABOUT ABORTION. WATCH ONE AND SEE THE RESULTS IN LIVING COLOR AND THEN MAKE AN OPINION. http://www.durarealidad.com/

    PRAY THAT YOU DO NOT LET CHRIST BLOOD SHED FOR YOU BE WASTED IN YOUR LIFE. TASTE AND SEE THAT HE IS VERY GOOD. KEN

  7. Wednesday November 5, 2008 at 4:41 PM

    THIS IS ALL THAT IS IMPORTANT ABOUT ABORTION. WATCH ONE AND SEE THE RESULTS IN LIVING COLOR AND THEN MAKE AN OPINION. http://www.durarealidad.com/

    PRAY THAT YOU DO NOT LET CHRIST BLOOD SHED FOR YOU BE WASTED IN YOUR LIFE. TASTE AND SEE THAT HE IS VERY GOOD. KEN

    Hey Ken, you’re implying that if someone thinks something is “gross” to look at, based upon that subjective opinion, therefore that action is “morally wrong?” That is a non-sequitur.

    Should we ban open-heart surgery because it “looks gross?” Should we ban the birth of children because some people think it “looks gross?”

    And as far as tasting Jesus, I’m not down with that. I find that it appears gross. Therefore, in my opinion, it is morally wrong.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Tell Me What You Think...

