Home > All, Books, Life > Halfway There

Halfway There

Well, as the title says, I’m halfway through. Halfway through with what, you ask? My New Year’s resolution. I finished reading “Endless Night” by Richard Laymon today.

I’m not usually the type of person to read fiction. At least, not contemporary fiction. And especially not like the murder/horror type of fiction. But, I got it for Christmas from Joanna’s mom. I figured I’d give it a shot. I was actually pretty impressed with it.

It wasn’t what I thought it would be like. You know, like the stereotypical, mass-market book you’d find on a grocery store shelf. It’s about this girl Jody and her soon-to-be friend Andy. Jody spends the night at her friend Evelyn’s house, and in the middle of the night, a group of maniacs break in and kill everyone in the family, including Evelyn. The action starts up right at the beginning.

Evelyn is killed right in front of Jody by a man with a spear. He hauls her away on the end of it, apparently not even seeing Jody in the room. So she sneaks out, finding Andy (Evelyn’s brother) still in his room alive – the maniacs down the hallway in the parents’ room.

This book is about their story of attempting to escape from these guys. Real sick-o’s. They’re all completely naked and hairless, except for a couple of them who’ve made clothes out of the skins of previous kills.

I don’t want to tell too much about the story, but each section of the book is about the story from both points of view. Jody and Andy’s point of view, then Simon’s – the main “bad guy,” who documents everything on a voice recorder.

The paperback is only $8 (or on the ad on the right, you can get it for like $0.40 on Amazon.com), so it’s definitely worth the money. It actually only took me a couple days to read. I was surprised at how quickly it went.

So next on my list is “Mathematics For The Million” by Lancelot Hogben. I’m only about 1/4 of the way through that one. It’s going to take a little longer to read, just because it’s non-fiction, and more importantly, it’s about the history of mathematics, it’s uses and applications. Everything from Arithmetic, all the way up to Calculus and Statistics. I want to try to comprehend everything.

So yeah, that’s about it.

Read a book!

Categories: All, Books, Life
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Tell Me What You Think...

