Home > All, Humor, Life > I Don’t Feel Nerdy

I Don’t Feel Nerdy

Interesting title to a post, right? I thought so.

What is “nerdy?” What characteristics does a nerd possess? I’ll name a few that I possess.

First nerdy thing about me: I like Star Trek. Yes, I said it. I love Star Trek TNG (The Next Generation). I don’t like the original version, though. The one with Captain Kirk. I’m not really sure why I don’t like it. I just don’t.

Second nerdy thing about me: I love to read. Especially non-fiction. Even more especially, books about science, mathematics and physics, as well as philosophy and politics.

Third nerdy thing about me: I’m obsessive about numbers. Statistics. I think I’ve mentioned somewhere in a previous post in this blog that I have a statistical database with numbers involving how quickly I run freight at work… that dates back to February of 2006. And that’s only scratching the surface of my number addiction.

Fourth nerdy thing about me: I like video games. Right now, my favorite game is Fight Night Round 3 for the XBox 360.

This is hardly a complete list, but now I think I can explain the title of this post a little better after including it. I don’t feel nerdy. Does that make sense?

If I were to remove myself from this picture and only look at those 4 traits, I would think that person was a complete nerd. But, I don’t feel like a nerd. I just feel like those are things that make up who I am, and I’m still awesome. Not a nerd.

I listen to awesome music. Tool is definitely not nerdy music. I like rap. Classical. Pretty much anything.

I’m not sure what got me thinking about this, but I found it interesting that most things that I enjoy, if I were to see someone else enjoying them, I would file that person in the nerd category. Am I in nerdy denial? Can you do nerdy things without actually being a nerd?

Well, that’s all I’ve got. Let me know what you think.

Also, read a book for once in your life.

Categories: All, Humor, Life
  1. Wednesday January 21, 2009 at 10:41 AM

    Nice post ^_^ would you be interested in receiving a free, fully functional wordpress blog as a sub domain on Nerdious? I’m trying to get a tech/nerd/gamer related blog network together, if you’re interested let me know at my site. If not, in the very least would you be interested in exchanging blog roll links? I’d love to link to your content : ) Just drop me a line http://nerdious.com/link-exchange/ and if your interested in a sub domain you can tell me there as well.

    -Happy Blogging

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Tell Me What You Think...

