Home > All, Family, Life > Post-Holidays Update

Post-Holidays Update

The holidays are officially over. It kinda feels strange saying that because it didn’t really feel like there were any holidays this year. In the literal sense because I worked on Christmas, as well as New Years Day.

In the abstract sense, the holidays just don’t feel like they used to. I remember when I was young, I looked forward to Christmas. I remember how excited I got. Seeing everyone that I didn’t really get to see all year. Now, it just seems different. Everyone’s busy. Life is busier. Everything is rushed.

Christmas Day, at least for me, was rushed. We woke up at 5am. The kids opened their presents. And the whole time I pretty much had in the back of my mind the fact that I had to work later. So, inevitably, I had to take part of my Christmas Day and spend it sleeping, so I didn’t fall asleep at work. And that took away time I would have been spending with family.

On the weekend before New Years we spent a couple days back at my family’s house in Hudson Falls. We had to hurry home on New Years Day so I could be home in time to go to work, again.

There’s just something wrong with a company that makes their employees work on Christmas… and New Years. Companies like McLane Northeast. When you work for a company like that, you don’t feel valued as a person. As an employee. It makes you feel like you’re just a means to an end. The fact that you may have a family really means nothing to them. Just run that freight and shut your mouth. I loved it when the “head guys” of McLane’s came in the day before Christmas weekend and said they wanted us to “enjoy our holiday.” What holiday?

You can be damned sure they weren’t working on Christmas. “Enjoy your holiday.” Yeah. I’ll enjoy being away from my family so I can run a bunch of freight. That’s my awesome Christmas present this year. Running freight for a shit company.

But, I guess it doesn’t really matter, does it? It’s all done and over with. Right?

Read a book.

Categories: All, Family, Life
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Tell Me What You Think...

