Home > All, Life, Music > Not Much Going On – Just Music

Not Much Going On – Just Music

So it’s been a while since I’ve written here. Not much has been going on. Just working – and not much of that as of late. The slow season is here, and that means we’ve been getting done around lunchtime (2:30am). So I’ve been getting a little more sleep than usual.

As far as music goes, along with my new-found hours of sleep, I’ve begun studying music a lot more. In particular, Beethoven’s “Pathétique” Sonata.

I don’t know if anyone reading this is familiar with the piece, but it’s amazing. One of my favorites by Beethoven. The melody of the second movement (Adagio cantabile) is pretty easily recognizable, even for people who aren’t familiar with classical music.

I’d already studied the second movement before deciding to actually attack the entire sonata. So I know it pretty well. The first movement, on the other hand, is quite another story. The intro is pretty simple. Slow, heavy chords. A run in 2 places. The octave melody.

Where it gets difficult is what immediately follows the intro. The tempo is Allegro di molto e con brio, which, in Italian, basically means “Cheerful with much livelyness.” Or, in other words… fast. A stark contrast from the intro.

For me, the most difficult part I’ve run into so far is this part, in the left hand. Beethoven utilizes the “tremolo” as the supporting medium for the right hand melody. In “pianospeak,” the tremolo is basically the alternating of 2 or more notes at “maximum possible speed”… basically, if you can, as fast as a drum roll. And, considering the fact that the notes in the tremolo are octaves, thumb and pinky being spread apart, it’s extremely fatiguing on the arms.

For those of you (if any) that are familiar with the piece, and in particular, the sheet music, you’ll know that the written trasnscription of the part I’m talking about isn’t written as tremolo. But, as far as my current technical abilities are concerned, my interpretation of the bass line is tremolo. The proper speed it should be played at is, for me, tremolo. My maximum possible speed. It’s like a workout for my left arm when I study this piece.

Anyway, I’m sure I’ve bored you to death with the intricacies of things you probably have no interest in reading about. So, I’ll end this post with some non-technical music talk. This song is wicked awesome. You should check it out. Let me know if you can’t find it anywhere.

Categories: All, Life, Music
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Tell Me What You Think...

