Home > All, Blogging, Rant > Why I Wouldn’t Read This Comment

Why I Wouldn’t Read This Comment

So I got this comment the other day about my most recent issue of “Why I Wouldn’t Read This Blog.” Take a look at it first.

That’s lovely.

But rather than sitting scribbling art criticism on bathroom walls…

maybe you could bother MENTIONING your laser-sharp vision & suggestions to the author?

there is something so sad about those who get their jollies in criticize… but not demonstrate a measure of human kindness…

ironically, there wasn’t a word of positivity in your post.

perhaps you could help distribute some of that wisdom?

Ok, so maybe the author of this comment missed the title of the post/issue. “Why I Wouldn’t Read This Blog.” I didn’t title it, “My Community Service In Order To Make People Feel Good About Themselves.” Am I required to put words of positivity in something titled “Why I Wouldn’t Do Such And Such…?” I’m sorry. This reader missed the point entirely.

There’s also a whole lot of incorrect grammar in this comment. The first sentence is flawless. “That’s lovely.”

I have contentions with the second “paragraph.”

But rather than sitting scribbling art criticism on bathroom walls…

maybe you could bother MENTIONING your laser-sharp vision & suggestions to the author?

“But” should be followed by a comma, as it is a conjunction placed at the beginning of a sentence. The ellipses is improperly used, causing a break in the sentence structure. If this is the way the author of the comment intended it to look, they should have capitalized the beginning of the sentence.

Now let’s take a look at the next series of random words:

there is something so sad about those who get their jollies in criticize… but not demonstrate a measure of human kindness…

I’m sorry, but I can’t take any “criticize” seriously when it’s not even in the correct grammatical form. Somehow, the noun “criticism” has become the verb (action word) “criticize.” I guess I get my jollies “in criticize.” AND PEOPLE WONDER WHY I WOULDN’T READ THIS BLOG!? Why the hell do I write that column in the first place???

Oh yeah, and I’m so tired of people using endless ellipses (…). It’s not a substitute for the period (.).

The thing that gets me the most is that the author says I will “not demonstrate a measure of human kindness.” Am I obligated to? In a column titled “Why I Wouldn’t Read This Blog?” This isn’t a list of nice things about blogs. It’s only about reasons I WOULD NOT read them. Not why I WOULD. This is a simple word recognition exercise. “Would” or “Would Not.”

I take well to criticism, but I do not take well to “criticize.” Comments involving constructive criticism are more than welcome. But, poorly thought out rants about my preference of topics that I write about… (note correct use of ellipses: a break in thought, quickly resuming.) It’s completely unacceptable. This person’s schadenfreude is certainly displayed… their attempt to destroy my reputation through incorrect grammar and spelling – not to mention broken arguments. Strawman arguments, if you will.

And as far as the last portion of the author’s comment, I haven’t the desire, time or motivation to tell every single blog author about why I wouldn’t read it. That’s why I have a blog, myself. To put all this in writing, and if people are interested (as they seem to be), they will read it and find out about what I think.

And the reasons above, my friends, are why “I Wouldn’t Read This Comment.”

Read a book.

Categories: All, Blogging, Rant
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Tell Me What You Think...

