Home > All, Books, Life > Sick On My Birthday and Suskind’s "One Percent Doctrine."

Sick On My Birthday and Suskind’s "One Percent Doctrine."

So yeah, my Birthday ended up awesome. Ended up being sick all day. It actually hit right around 2 or 3pm. Ever been sick like that? Not a hint of anything stirring in the internals, and then BAM!! Life destroyed. Yeah, that’s what happened to me yesterday. The one time I actually get sick, and it had to be my B-Day.

Joanna sent me a text message from work just a little bit ago, asking how I was. I said, “better.” She asked, “better… as in almost 100%?” I said, “65%. Just passing.” So that’s the situation I’m in right now. Just passing for healthy. I’ve got some Day-Quil that I need to take. But after that, I should be fine… 92%. Good enough, right? Good enough for government work.

So yesterday I finished Ron Suskind’s book, “The One Percent Doctrine: Deep Inside America’s Pursuit Of Its Enemies Since 9/11.”

I have to say, for an American President, this book is a huge embarrassment. In essence, Bush is, in this administration, treated almost as a child. His work style is clearly elucidated, in contrast to Cheney, who (by coincidence, or not) is more in charge of foreign affairs. Bush merely being a spokesman for a policy he barely even understands.

In reality, from what this book reveals, Cheney is definitely the brains behind the administration. Bush is more likened to the results of the “TV generation,” although this is never said in the book. Tactile isn’t even the word. Like the primate that lacks the ability to self-reflect, Bush is always in need of that which he can see and touch. He rarely reads. Many meetings in the “Situation Room” began with members asking Bush if he’d even read the handouts concerning what was to be dealt with in each meeting. Or, of course, descriptions of puzzled looks Bush gave during these meetings.

If you have any interest in the inner workings of this administration, I’d highly recommend this book. It talks about not only the people in the spotlight. It deals with those who are actually out in the field, doing the actual work, finding the terrorists. The people who really deserve the credit. George Tenet being the real hero. It’s clear that Suskind is very fond of Tenet and he does a wonderful job of portraying him as the man behind CIA.

I’ve just started Kevin Phillips’ “American Theocracy: The Peril and Politics of Radical Religion, Oil, and Borrowed Money in the 21st Century.” It looks really good. I saw Phillips on C-SPAN last week and what he was talking about was very intriguing/true. So I’ll let you know what I think after I finish it.

Categories: All, Books, Life
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Tell Me What You Think...

