Home > All, Family > I’m Exhausted. I’m Not Complaining. Here’s Why…

I’m Exhausted. I’m Not Complaining. Here’s Why…

I’m exhausted. I’m not complaining. I haven’t gotten much sleep lately, and not getting enough sleep is one of the worst feelings. Especially when one has to work all night. (Let me stress that I’m not complaining. Just letting everyone know that I’m tired/exhausted.)

Now, my job isn’t exactly difficult. Operating the highlift basically involves moving my right arm and/or thumb in various directions, controlling the functions of the lift, while using my left hand to steer. That’s about it. I don’t have to do any heavy lifting or anything. I just stand on the lift and let it do the work for me. But, I’m still exhausted. (Did I mention that I’m not complaining?)

Yeah, working nights sucks, but I do it for my girls. All 3 of them. Joanna, Tessa and Torri. They’re my life and I don’t know what I’d do without them.

Back before Torri was born, I spent a lot of time worrying about if I was going to be a good enough father for her. It’s funny how things like that just come naturally. From the moment I saw her come into the world, I knew right away that there was no way that I could be a bad father. It’s amazing how quickly such a little person can become the center of your world, without having to do anything. As soon as I held her, I knew that my life would be forever changed. It became infinitely better.

And then there’s Tessa. She’s such a smart kid. She’s got a really high emotional intelligence (they say EQ is much more important that IQ). She’s very perceptive and sensitive to other people’s feelings. And some of the things she says just blows me away. Just ironic or interesting things that I wouldn’t expect a 5 year old to notice. She starts kindergarten next month and I know she’ll have no problems at all.

Joanna. I don’t even know where to start. I don’t know what I’d do without her. I know I’m home most of the time with the kids, but the few hours that I get to see her before I go to work… I feel like she holds everything together. I would be totally lost if it wasn’t for her. Maybe sometimes I don’t show her enough, but she means everything to me.

I know this entry probably doesn’t interest you, my loyal reader, and you’d probably include this in your “Why I Wouldn’t Read This Blog” series, but when I started talking about how tired and exhausted I’ve been lately, it only made me think about why I do what I do. And you just read a little bit about why that is. Those 3 special people with whom I’m lucky enough to share my life with.

And with that, I’ll conclude with the usual ending: Turn off your TV and read a book.

Categories: All, Family
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Tell Me What You Think...

