Home > All, Education, Family, Life, Work > Thanksgiving and School… Again

Thanksgiving and School… Again

So Thanksgiving was yesterday. It was alright. I had to work the night before, arriving home around 7:00am or so. We went to Joanna’s Aunt Dorothy’s house. Her husband passed away this year, so it’s her first holiday season without him. There was kind of an awkward seating moment when she had set one too many places at the table. We all made light of it (including her), but I know it had to be hard for her.

Overall, it was a fun night. It’s always interesting around Jo’s family. They’re always loud and outspoken… but a very close family. They’ve been through a lot. I, personally, can’t say that I’ve ever experienced the death of a close family member or friend. But, since I’ve been with Joanna, I’ve been to 2 funerals. It’s just something that I can’t comprehend. That’s the way it’s always been. Death has been something that’s always present in her family. My Great-Grandmother lived until she was 98. It’s rare for someone in Jo’s family to live past 60. It seems unfair.

That’s when I start to worry about Joanna. Aside from her uncle (whose house we were at last night), everyone in her family who has died, died of cancer. I really don’t want to lose her at a young age. Her sister, who is younger than her, has had melanoma several times… having surgery to fix it. I always have thoughts about, “Well, maybe Jo’s different. Maybe she didn’t get those genes.” It’s not something I like to think about.

Ok, so on to something more positive. Work has been alright. My 90-day probation period should be over with very soon. I don’t remember when I started, but I’d say in a couple weeks, it should be over. Then I’ll be getting a raise. I don’t like the job, but it pays fairly well.

And once again, the college thing… I hope that I’ll just get motivated and DO IT. I’m actually online applying to Onondaga Community College right now. For spring classes. I’m not even exactly sure what to take. But, we’ll see what happens. Maybe I’ll call and try to get some help with it.

So that’s it for now. So everyone feel free to not comment, like you always do. lol

Categories: All, Education, Family, Life, Work
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Tell Me What You Think...

