Home > All, Education, Work > New Job & Looking Forward

New Job & Looking Forward

Saturday September 24, 2005 Leave a comment Go to comments

I look forward to days off so much more now that I have this new job. I really need them. I hardly get any sleep anymore, and a day off is about the only thing that can satisfy that need. I may have said this before, but, if there’s anything that makes you realize that you need to do something more with your life, it’s having a 3rd shift job in a warehouse.

I was talking to one of the truck drivers on Thursday night/Friday morning (I don’t remember what time it was), and we were talking about how some people just get complacent in a job like this, and instead of keeping sight of their goals, they just coast through – working a dead end job for 20 or 30 years. The pay is OK, and for some people, it’s just enough to keep them from wanting to do anything more with themselves. I can see how it’s possible to lose sight of your dreams, and to just keep doing the same thing. At the same time, I can’t see myself doing that… or… should I say… I don’t want to see myself doing that. I’m afraid of seeing myself do that.

I’ve noticed that most of the guys working there are in that boat. They’re all about 40 years old or so. They all have the I’ve-been-working-here-for-15-years look and attitude about them. And for what? Top pay in the high-lift position is $17 an hour. And you make that after 3 years. So they’ve spent the past 12 years wasting their lives away making just as much as someone who’s been there 1/5th of the time they have. There is so much more out there.

And here I am complaining… I just started there. I can’t say that I’ve accomplished a ton so far in my life. I did complete a semester of college. Something I guess I never thought I’d end up doing. As long as all goes well, I’ll be back to school in the winter. I’ll have to take online classes for now, just because I don’t have the time (or energy, because of this job) to go in person. I’ll be focusing on computer science, programming – centering my attention on C++ , Visual Basic and .NET development. I really think Microsoft Windows Vista is going to do a lot for the computer industry, and software development is going to be huge.

I haven’t got much else on my mind right at the moment.

Categories: All, Education, Work
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Tell Me What You Think...

