Home > All, Books, Family, Life, Philosophy > Busy (Kids & Work) Being a Dad

Busy (Kids & Work) Being a Dad

Alright, so I don’t write in this thing all that much anymore! Guess just because I’ve been so busy with work and the kids.

Been studying for my A+ exam (computer stuff). I think I’ll be ready in about a month. There’s so much stuff to memorize. Memory addresses and all that crap.

I know I’m a little late in reading this, but Orwell’s “1984” is awesome. It’s a little frustrating too – seeing the similarities between “the Party” and the way our country is run today. Big Brother really isn’t much different than our own government. The surveillance techniques, the way everyone is programmed to be afraid of everyone else (just watch the news). And of course, the “Ministry of Truth.” Can anyone say FOX News Channel?

Torri is getting so big. She just turned 8 months on Sunday. It’s hard to believe. She’s growing up so fast! I remember when I could hold her with one arm. Now I’m keeping her out of trouble with that hand, and trying to do everything else with the other hand.

She’s so close to walking. She stands herself up and lets go of the coffee table… but then she plops down. It won’t be long before she makes a run for it.

I think that’s one of the things I love about being a stay-at-home Dad. I don’t miss all these things that she’s learning. Also the fact that we’ve bonded so much. Any time she’s upset she wants her Daddy. It’s rare that babies want Daddy when they’re upset. Not only does it make me feel like I’m doing a good job as a parent, but I know that she loves me.

I think, most importantly, it reaffirms in my mind that I will never make her live through what I lived through with my father. The only reason I obeyed him was because I was afraid of him. My children will never feel like they are a burden on me. They will always know that they are loved, no matter what. Tessa and Torri will never grow up ashamed of their Dad/Step-Dad.
Anyway, this is enough for now. I’ll let you guys absorb the fact that I actually wrote here!

Then, just maybe, you’ll comment.

Categories: All, Books, Family, Life, Philosophy
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Tell Me What You Think...

