Home > All, Family, Life > Deadbeat Dad

Deadbeat Dad

Ok, so I have this jackass of a Dad. He’s treated my whole family like crap since I was a kid. He still owes a lot of child support for my younger sister, and now he’s paying some lawyer to say that he shouldn’t have to pay. So, I finally wrote him a letter telling him how we feel about him. That we won’t be at his funeral, and that the only person he ever cared about was himself.

On top of it, he has a mail-order bride, to whose family he pays money each month – I suppose as a ‘services rendered’ fee. Also, he sends sealed checks to his church each month. He assumes that his “sins are forgiven” even though he is an asshole of a person. That’s how he’s always been. He can do whatever he wants as long as he goes to confession each Sunday. Take, for instance, the last two vehicles he’s given to my sister. He gave them to her because he “couldn’t trust them to get him to work and back.” There are countless other offenses, like when we were little, shutting the heat off until he got home – to ensure he had enough fuel to keep himself warm. Also, he apparently feels that it’s ok to be an alcoholic because “wine” is in the Bible.

Needless to say, these things I said were built up over the 24 years I’ve been alive. We certainly didn’t deserve that treatment from him, and the least he could do is fulfill his legal obligations. But no, he can’t even do that. So now it’s up to the judge to force him to pay.

If nothing else, he’s taught me exactly how not to be with my own family. It’s a terrible thing to say about your own family, but he is a horrible person, and with that letter I absolved myself of any contact with him – making it plain and clear that I want nothing to do with him as long as I live.

On a happier note, little Torri Jean is very close to arriving. Our due date is, as I’ve said before, on the 13th of November, but the doctor says Joanna won’t make it another 4 weeks even! So, we’re thinking about 2 or 3 weeks from now the new addition to our family will be here! We are very excited. We’ve been doing laps around the mall, “power walking,” as the best way to encourage going into labor is to walk. We walked 4 miles last night, and we’ll probably go back on Wednesday night and do the same.

Not much else going on right now, just more Ebay stuff. Keep checking… there’s always something listed. Talk to you later.

Categories: All, Family, Life
  1. No comments yet.
  1. Friday July 18, 2008 at 11:25 AM

Tell Me What You Think...

