Home > All, Money, Philosophy, Television, Work > New Job At Tribune (Reflection)

New Job At Tribune (Reflection)

I’ve got a new job now. It sucks, but in a strange way. It’s incredibly easy, and I make $9.25 an hour to be trained. But, can I ask you – have you ever tried to sit in one place for 8 hours straight? I’ve come to the point several times where my legs were actually in pain from not moving. Staring at a computer screen for 8 hours straight, punching in television schedules isn’t as great as I thought it would be. It is incredibly boring.

I guess they try to make their employees feel cool by requiring them to have a security card to enter the building, and different corridors in the building. I guess I do feel kind of cool, but not all that cool. I’ve been working there since Wednesday, and each day I come so close to falling asleep sitting up. It’s the exact feeling you get when you feel like you’re falling asleep at the wheel. You’re doing something so monotonous that you almost forget you’re doing it, and your head kind of bobs down and the movement itself is what wakes you up.

I’m sure (I hope) you guys have read my previous posts, and you know what time I usually go to bed at night. To make a long story short, I have to be at work by 7 am every weekday. It sucks really badly.

I guess part of the boringness and frustration comes from knowing that what I’m doing bares no significance in the real world. When’s the last time you looked at a television schedule? When’s the last time I gave a crap about what’s on television?

My new job has also provided me with a new revelation. It’s shown me just how unnatural work really is. You must sit at this cubicle and type things in for 8 hours a day, in order to fill these quotas, provide meaningless information to masses of consumers, and finally, waste time I could be spending on something that benefits me in some tangible way.

And I guess the thing that bugs me the most is how the “higher-ups” make the job out to be this great opportunity, and that they’ve “searched long and hard for an employee like you.” Bullshit. They just can’t find someone who’s willing to do this crap that’s unnatural for a human being to perform.

It may sound “lazy,” but my “dream job” is to do absolutely nothing. Why must we be enslaved to someone else our entire lives in order to survive? Why would I be consided lazy? Do you desire to work? Or do you just want to sound “responsible” to impress the people who are standing around you when you speak? No sane human being wants to work. But, oh well. I guess I’ll just pretend like everyone else who says they “love what they do” (liars), and do stuff other people don’t want to do – for money. Because that’s all work is… being bribed to do what someone else is “too good” to do. And if you don’t, basically, you die.

On a positive note, I’ll have money very soon now. I’m a slave to “the man,” and in return, I obtain money.

Other than that, folks, nothing is really going on. Just work. Be sure to comment!!!!!

Categories: All, Money, Philosophy, Television, Work
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Tell Me What You Think...

