Home > All > The End Of GodKillzYou [An Atheist Matures]

The End Of GodKillzYou [An Atheist Matures]

Introduction

For anyone who’s at all familiar with my writing, this blog or me personally, you’ll know that I’ve used the name GodKillzYou for pretty much all of my internet activity. Any account I’ve ever registered basically had that screen name associated with it.

So where did that name come from? Well, when I first de-converted from Christianity I was angry. I slowly began to realize that everything I believed was founded upon my own faulty reasoning, and that God was something I wanted to exist – not something that could be shown to exist. And because I’m a person who tends to take things to extremes, the result of my apostasy was my new screen name: GodKillzYou.

Good or bad, I went with it. I tended to adopt a point of view and portray an image that a name like GodKillzYou would put forth. I became the snarky, cynical, condescending, skeptical atheist that a name like GodKillzYou would fit.

Of course, I wasn’t like that all of the time in my writing. As my writing, as well as my personal journey into Atheism progressed, I found myself growing more and more understanding and sympathetic toward believers; not only of Christianity and other religions, but also of those who believe other things (ESP, Dowsing, Astrology, Psychic Abilities, etc.).

But my sympathy and understanding does not translate into acceptance of those claims. I simply understand more clearly how we arrive at those conclusions, and my attitude has come to reflect that. My intentions are much more driven by the desire to reach a common understanding with those whom I disagree with.

Re-Branding Myself

So, in this attempt to re-brand myself I’m hoping that my new screen name, TheSkepticalAtheist, will bear a closer resemblance to my worldview. “TheSkepticalAtheist” doesn’t carry with it that angst-ridden, spiteful, cynical tone that I’m looking to get away from.

I also realize that doing something like this is akin to changing a phone number. I will still leave my http://godkillzyou.wordpress.com/ (In Case You’re Interested…) blog up. There is a lot of useful information there, aside from my writings on religion – tech stuff, iTunes fixes, etc. I’ll also still respond to comments on that blog, as I still get plenty.

And with that, I’m saying farewell to GodKillzYou and any stigma the goes along with it. I am branding myself TheSkepticalAtheist.

My new blog can be found here: http://theskepticalatheist.wordpress.com.

Categories: All
  1. Monday November 2, 2009 at 10:40 PM

    I admire your intellectual growth and maturity. It is all to easy to see ourselves as the enlighten ones while dismissing others in condescension. I am constantly living in the struggle to understand religiosity in all its intricacies. Life is a lot more complicated than most would want to admit. If we become overly zealous and intolerant towards others, we would have become the very demon of fundamentalism- an attitude both the religious and the irreligious want to avoid. It is my hope that more would engage in constructive conversations. Let’s push each other’s intellectual boundaries. After all, it is our humanity that unites us, not creed or dogma.

  2. Tuesday December 8, 2009 at 10:26 PM

    You know, the thing about your name is, I read extremely fast due to the high quantities of caffeine I ingest, and I frequently mistake your name for Godzilla because of the two “L”s and the Z. So, if you don’t mind, I’m going to think of you as Godzilla. Or Godkillaz. It’s kind of like that too. Anyway, I added a link to you on my blog because it’s always nice to have a good hard-hitting atheist viewpoint to fall back on when faith lets you down. I have a couple of them now. I’ll keep looking for others. To be fair, I should probably link to a few more Christian fundamentalist sites, but frankly, most of them make my stomach churn. I’m just not in to arguing religion. It doesn’t give me any joy to fight with people about shit yo can’t prove. And faith is all about believing in shit you can’t prove. So why argue about it? Darth Vader is Jesus – why dispute the facts?

  3. Thursday June 3, 2010 at 3:50 PM

    hi there,

    i was wondering if you could help me.i recently read one of your comments which was very helpful indeed,it was about my proxy connection error so thanks for that.But im still not able to upload on my Utorrent because it says i need to open up ports to get a better connection?! iv just moved address and they gave me a d-link router when before i had a normal modem which worked great.If you can just guide me through anything i would be very greatful.I will check back in a day or so to see if you have replied.

    Thanks,
    Rick

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Tell Me What You Think...

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

