Home > All, Music, News, Science, Skepticism > The Foo Fighters And HIV Denial

The Foo Fighters And HIV Denial

The Foo Fighters had been one of my all-time favorite bands. I bought their self-titled album (their first album, released in 1995) the day it came out. I figured that since Dave Grohl was part of Nirvana, the band must be awesome. I had been right.

The Colour And The Shape was one of my favorite albums of all time. There still isn’t a time when I can’t just listen to it straight through. Each song is great.

That being said, it’s sad that I have to say this, but I have suspended my “fan-ship” of the Foo Fighters until further notice. I cannot support a band that denies solid science… or for that matter, supports nonsense along the lines of craziness equal to that of Tom Cruise and his belief in Scientology.

If you look on the Foo Fighters’ Official site, on their “Official Causes” section, you’ll find a link to “Alive & Well,” an HIV Denialist group. Basically, these people claim that HIV does not cause AIDS, and that people should stop taking their HIV medication. It’s simply outrageous. It’s putting people’s lives at risk.

The band was even handing out fliers at concerts which claimed that HIV is in no way connected with AIDS! This sounds rather cult-ish to me. What business do they have, not being scientists, claiming that they have the answers to the AIDS epidemic? This is just as ridiculous as Jenny McCarthy and her Autism and Vaccination link garbage.

Here is an excellent article on the situation.

So, I will conclude by saying that I am suspending my status as a fan of the Foo Fighters indefinitely, until this mess is cleaned up. I will not consider myself a fan until the band completely disavows itself from this conspiracy theory nonsense. As a Skeptic and an adherent to science and reason, I will not stand for this blatant attack on the medical community. So, as much as it pains me to say this…

The Foo Fighters SUCK!!!

Read a book.

Categories: All, Music, News, Science, Skepticism
  1. Rob
    Monday May 12, 2008 at 12:00 AM

    Although the page you link to is there, when I accessed the community/causes link from their website it’s not the same page, and the Alive & Well organization isn’t included. I wonder what that’s about.

  2. Monday May 12, 2008 at 1:49 AM

    I’ve actually written a follow-up article about that very issue.

    You can read it here.

    The news may not be as bad as I had previously thought.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Tell Me What You Think...

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

