Home > All, Errors, Hacks/Tricks, Internet, iTunes > “Burn Process Failed” [Error 4450]

“Burn Process Failed” [Error 4450]

Either of these messages can be quite disheartening. “Burn Process Failed” showing up when using Nero Burning ROM, or “Error 4450″ when burning a CD through iTunes. I’m willing to bet that if you’ve found this site through a search engine, you’ve probably got a stack of about 20 or so useless, ruined blank CD-Rs or DVD-Rs; more commonly known as coasters. Basically, from what I’ve been able to deduce, the cause of this problem is a bad DVD-R/CD-RW drive. None of the solutions offered on the web, by anyone, seem to have remedied the situation.

Every once-in-a-while a disc would burn successfully. But these came fewer and more far between. What I finally ended up doing was going out and buying a new disc burner. And now, the problem is gone.

This post gets a huge amount of hits every single day. This problem must be pretty rampant. Too bad no one on any official sites will give any additional information as to what the cause of this is.

So, that’s all I’ve got. If you have any additional info, email me at godkillzyou@gmail.com.

Read a book.

Update As Of 6/7/2009

I’ve written an open letter to Apple, Inc. about this problem. I wonder if it will have any effect?

I should also mention that even after having purchased a new CD burner, I still get this error. Problem not fixed.

  1. Anonymus Geek
    Monday December 24, 2007 at 3:13 AM

    Same thing here. I hate that Error 4450. I have tried all sorts of ways to make successful audio CDs, and have been unsuccessful. I have changed the writing speed from Maximum Possibel to 20x or 24x, I have changed the brand of CD-Rs I have bought, & have tried burning the music by using a different media such as Windows Media Player, RealPlayer, Rhapsody, etc. I had even reformated my main-driver but I still get the same error message when I attempt to burn an audio CD. Now I am definitely saving up for an external CD-DVD rewritable drive.

    Just curious, but do all CD-DVD rewritable drives eventually wear out over time?

    • stevie L
      Monday July 27, 2009 at 2:44 PM

      had the same prob, so I tried just playin it in the car and it works no probs….. ye hah!!!!!!!

      • Mystic
        Tuesday October 12, 2010 at 3:59 PM

        Same here! CD still played despite the error. I tried different brands of CD’s, changing speed, and even bought a new burner. Still get the error message.

        • Tex
          Friday December 3, 2010 at 4:59 PM

          Got the burn canceled and error message on an mp3 disc burn, but the disc was complete and worked fine.

    • gene
      Monday February 1, 2010 at 2:58 PM

      one last resort to try is to minimize the number of songs you are trying to burn on the disc. sometimes, as with my case, the number of songs exceeds the cd space by just a few, causing error 4450 to occur. to make absoultely sure this is not the case i would suggest trying to burn a cd with just one song on it, if it works, problem solved!

    • Erik
      Saturday November 27, 2010 at 9:20 PM

      Changing (lowering) the burning speed from maximum to 16x worked for me. Hope this helps someone.

      • Tuesday November 30, 2010 at 6:08 PM

        This does seem to work for some. It worked for me for a bit, but then the error happened again.

  2. Friday December 28, 2007 at 2:33 PM

    For the most part, yes they do. It depends on how much you use the drive. If you’re constantly burning CDs and DVDs, it will, obviously, burn out quicker. This could have something to do with the heat generated inside the drive, damaging the electronics inside. Not 100% sure on that though.

  3. Larry Lunsford
    Monday March 31, 2008 at 4:18 PM

    I am getting the ‘burn process failed’ sign, but I can still burn successfully on my ‘windows’ media center site. Does that still mean my burner is dead or dying? Should I say to heck with itunes and use windows instead? It is not as convenient as just using itunes alone.
    Thanx!

  4. shar
    Thursday April 3, 2008 at 8:47 PM

    that can’t be it cause just got a new computer and still getting error 4450! how about a change of cd brand?

  5. Friday April 4, 2008 at 4:14 AM

    Well, just because you’ve gotten a new computer does not logically mean that there’s nothing wrong with the drive. There could, possibly, be something wrong with it.

    What I’d recommend is to, if you know someone else who’s got a drive that works, is hook it up to your computer and see if it works. If it does, than your drive is broken.

  6. Wayne M
    Friday April 11, 2008 at 2:46 PM

    i’ve been through an external 4x cdrw, internal 40x cdrw, 8x dvdrw, and now using a SATA 20x dvdrw.

    the 4x would normally burn at only 2x using usb1.0 only! yikes ($530 for that one) the 40x internal still works, (paid $60) burned over 1000 cds on it and it only started to stall out on me for a while until i upgraded the firmware. The 8x dvdrw worked fine ($120), however the trouble of converting video and media to be usable on dvd-r or +r was not worth the investment of having to try and try again and again so i gave that one away. still works. now i have a SATA 20x dvdrw and it burns on every type of media fast and reliable ($45), no fail burns but big problem, not all SATA connections “see” the drive but that’s ok now that i’m aware of the BIOS settings. EVERY type of media has problems, but if you find a good combination know that it will only last for a while, until something changes in software, or physical hardware or drivers or spyware or all that junk. The distance between hard drive to cd-r/dvd-r/+r is a LOOONG one at times. And i have 100’s and 100’s of failed burn coasters, i’ve used them as frisbies in a cdr war with my crazy jackass friends :)

  7. crane
    Monday May 5, 2008 at 12:49 PM

    I just started to have the problem while trying 8gig discs for the first time. I read many forums, what I got from them was that Nero is the cause. I have an LG GSA-H22L burner and I tried Fujifilm discs. I am going to try uninstalling Nero and trying another burn program. If that doesn’t work, I will get Verbatim discs and try that. I don’t think it is my burner, it burns everything else (cds, and 4 gig dvds) just fine. I will post back.

  8. Waylon
    Saturday May 17, 2008 at 8:33 PM

    I’m getting the 4450 error message. Read on the itunes discussion forum to run an optical lense cleaner through it. Didn’t work. I made another coaster. My burner will burn CD’s using Burn4Free I got off CNET. But of course it won’t burn anything I bought from I tunes. Pretty frustrating.

  9. Fañch
    Monday June 2, 2008 at 1:45 PM

    Pretty looking forward to Crane’s reply.
    I’ve been trying to burn mp3 cds for a week now and I changed software from Nero to iTunes, changed CD-R brands from Fujifilm to Verbatim, uninstalled and reinstalled the burning softwares: nothing worked so far, I can’t get rid of this error (whatever it is called) And the more frustrating is that I’m still able to burn a classic audio-CD; I’m lost.

  10. gillian
    Thursday July 10, 2008 at 1:33 PM

    I would just like to say thank you to all who answered this topic, i have been burning discs no problem, then all of a sudden i get error 4450! Frustrated? You could say, but finding out that it is not just me is reassuring. Will go and buy a new drive tomorrow.
    Again thank you

  11. Ata
    Thursday July 17, 2008 at 6:44 PM

    If your DVD/CD burner is only a couple of years old I would buy a laser head cleaner and use it straight away and then after every two burns or so. It only costs around $7 and its a worthwhile investment. If cleaning doesn’t fix your problem then give Nero a try. If that doesn’t work either, you probably need a new burner.

  12. Kate
    Friday August 8, 2008 at 2:26 AM

    I reduced the write speed and that fixed the problem for me.

  13. Monday August 25, 2008 at 1:27 PM

    Having to reduce the write speed could be a sign that the quality of the drive is deteriorating. It can’t perform as fast as it once did. Just a thought.

  14. Monizzle
    Thursday September 4, 2008 at 9:34 PM

    I’m so pissed right now I have about 20 “coasters” laying all around me and I’m about to start breaking them and throwing them across the room. I think that this is a scam on Apple’s part so u can pay 2 talk 2 the jackasses because phone support is not part of the $200 $#@&%^@ ipod!

  15. house
    Thursday September 18, 2008 at 12:59 PM

    yeah… actually try the CD. they all work, even when the error happens. you have probably wasted alot of good CDs oops

  16. Peter Filosi
    Sunday October 26, 2008 at 5:11 PM

    I get the error (4450) when I try to burn a playlist with Itunes free songs in it. Otherwise, I can burn any other type of play list. May free is not really free.

  17. Bill Dopson
    Thursday December 18, 2008 at 7:37 PM

    This 4450 error didn’t happen to me until I downloaded songs from ITunes and then tried to burn them through ITunes – is this the way others have encountered the problem as well – at present my computer will not write to a blank CD-R – never had this problem before…

    Bill

  18. Bill Dopson
    Friday December 19, 2008 at 2:33 PM

    Follow up – Figuring it was some kind of a registry problem, I re-installed my computer device drivers – problem solved – BUT I won’t be burning CDs from ITunes again!!!

    Bill

  19. Bk
    Sunday January 18, 2009 at 4:31 PM

    Ok folks heres my two cents on the topic. I have windows vista and just recently my two year old disc drive died, I had it replaced under warranty and just got it back friday. My first attempt at burning was met with ERROR 4550. Every subsequent burn was met with the same error. I changed the burn speed in itunes from maximun to 24x and TA-DAH no more problems. Hope this helps. jan 18 2009

  20. Mr.E
    Sunday February 8, 2009 at 4:12 PM

    I have about 10 coasters sitting around, which isnt bad compared to some others. I came to this site and read all the posts. Bk’s post was the one that did the trick for me. I changed it from Maximum to 24x and “TA-DAH” the disc burns fine. The only disadvantage is waiting an extra 7-10 mins depending on your computer and drive.

    Hope this post helps.

  21. mike
    Monday March 2, 2009 at 9:37 PM

    i’m having a real hard time believing that it’s the cd/rw drive when so many people seem to be having the same sort of problem. i had this same problem with my old dell computer and then i recently bought a new system and was able to burn a complete cd from itunes. a few days later i tried another one and it started again with error 4450. i also tried changing the speed from maximum to 24x and it’s the same problem. i’ve also tried playing the cd after it’s stopped and the selections that were written played ok but anything on the playlist that didn’t get written weren’t there. not quite sure what’s going on but i’m going to take it in and have it checked. thanks for all the input.

  22. dave
    Thursday March 5, 2009 at 1:27 PM

    I got this error and I solved it by the following, you may want to give this a try if you get the Error 4550…

    1. Change the Burn Speed to 12X
    2. Change the gap between songs from 2 seconds to none

    After doing these two changes I now burn without problems. Maybe a little slower, but at least it works!

    • Tim
      Saturday March 21, 2009 at 5:50 PM

      dave permalink
      I got this error and I solved it by the following, you may want to give this a try if you get the Error 4550…

      1. Change the Burn Speed to 12X
      2. Change the gap between songs from 2 seconds to none

      After doing these two changes I now burn without problems. Maybe a little slower, but at least it works!

      didn’t work for me…

      • hammond
        Sunday March 29, 2009 at 6:54 PM

        Worked for me!

        • Thursday November 12, 2009 at 11:11 AM

          Didn’t work for me :(

          • Leanne Peat
            Monday November 30, 2009 at 2:38 PM

            Or me :(

        • Wednesday November 30, 2011 at 3:10 PM

          worked for me too

    • Jean
      Saturday September 12, 2009 at 11:28 PM

      Thanks for the tip! Worked like a charm!

    • Friday November 18, 2011 at 1:53 PM

      Tried this and it worked!!!!! Thank you for the tip :)

  23. Andy Ford
    Saturday March 28, 2009 at 9:15 AM

    This only happens to me on songs I have actually bought from itunes. Any ideas??

  24. sara
    Wednesday April 8, 2009 at 5:02 PM

    This error showed up and continued burning. But, the 1st 6 songs are all the same and the rest didn’t work. Then i tried again and it didn’t finalize.

  25. Anand Chauhan
    Friday May 1, 2009 at 12:37 PM

    Thanks for such an informative post….keep posting more…excellent

  26. Carmen
    Monday May 4, 2009 at 10:25 PM

    I had this problem several times. I followed these instructions and burned a CD, but it only had 5 out of the 17 songs I had in my playlist.
    I was about to disconnect, but I decided to give it one last shot. This time, I disconnected before burning it… and it worked. The whole playlist.

  27. Tyler
    Friday May 8, 2009 at 9:26 AM

    The Cd will work up to a certain point. After it reaches, say track 14 or 18 it wont work any more.

    • rose
      Wednesday October 14, 2009 at 11:43 AM

      it also happened to me. and till now nothing worked for me.

  28. weezgotya
    Monday May 18, 2009 at 10:10 PM

    This is so frustrating, I can’t see if your getting that many hits to the site that everyones burner is going down. I did download bittorrent a day or two before this happened anyone else download something similar before getting this error. It also was after I finished a spindle and started on a new spindle of the same brand. Still looking for a fix tho

    • Tuesday May 19, 2009 at 4:29 AM

      I’m not sure I fully understand what this comment means…

  29. George
    Friday May 29, 2009 at 3:17 PM

    After a couple of years of hassle-free burning, Error 4450 began to crop up more and more frequently on my Dell 4500. I tried a new CD-DVD/RW drive but it did not solve the problem. The error is not unique to iTunes. If a disc burn fails, in my experience it is NOT true that the disc is completely playable, as some posters have said.

    Neither Dell nor Apple has anything to say, other than this is a “known problem.” (In which case shouldn’t there be a solution by now?) My only hope is that it’s my brand of blank CDs, but looking at all these posts I’m not optimistic.

  30. nk5
    Monday June 1, 2009 at 8:51 PM

    This is an important adendum to your update!!
    You said the CD DOES work after the error pops up. Unfortunately, this is true, but to an extent. Your CD did stop before it was finished, and whether it was the last 10 seconds of the last song you’re missing, or the last 5 songs, the CD isn’t complete. :(

  31. nix
    Saturday June 6, 2009 at 3:46 PM

    Hey guys, before you buy new drives, i read on a website that this error may be part of some registry problem, try downloading the regcure trial and run the scan then click “fix errors”. it worked really well for me! And it made my computer faster! hope that helped!
    GOOD LUCK

    • Sunday June 7, 2009 at 12:31 PM

      Nix,

      Coincidentally enough, I actually have the full version of RegCure. I have it scan my computer on a regular basis. So, at least in my situation, it’s not a registry error. Or, at least not a registry error that RegCure is catching.

  32. Bradley Dichter
    Sunday June 7, 2009 at 6:12 PM

    I’m sure this will start a flame war, but you could switch to a Mac and avoid registry errors. Of course optical drives in Macs will fail eventually too. If you replace your optical drive, of course you may need to change something for the computer to use different driver for a different model, perhaps even a firmware difference. Just a note backing up what others have mentioned, stick with quality brands like Verbatim.

  33. michael guertin
    Saturday June 13, 2009 at 2:53 PM

    Hi. I’ve had this atrocious “Error 4450″ glitch too!
    Soooooo frustrating, BUT, a tech guy from my church just solved it!!! Well, at least for me!
    He had me go to the “Advanced” tab at the top of your iTunes playlist; click on it, when it opens down, go to
    “create MP3 version” of the song you have highlighted.
    click on it; it will convert the song you’re trying to burn from an AAC format to MP3; IMMEDIATELY, my iTunes’ burner started to work quickly and correctly!
    Hope this helps most of you!
    God bless,
    “Guerty”

    • Tuesday June 30, 2009 at 12:38 PM

      I don’t have really any AAC format music in my library. Pretty much all MP3. So this method wouldn’t work for me.

  34. Clint
    Saturday June 27, 2009 at 2:03 PM

    I bought a laptop monday, and burned a disk using itunes. the next day, i got the same error, made 20 coasters. took it to best buy and geek squad, and tried jus about everything. i’m just having my computer replaced. hopefully i wont have a similar problem.

    • Saturday June 27, 2009 at 3:42 PM

      There’s got to be some commonality between everyone receiving this error and the software/hardware they’re using. Some type of conflict between iTunes/Nero and the other software/hardware on their computer.

      Make sure when using iTunes, you select Help/Provide iTunes Feedback and submit an error report. Even if you’ve done it before. Or you can click this link to submit an error report.

  35. Katie
    Monday June 29, 2009 at 11:51 PM

    I rarely burn CD’s. This is probably the 3rd time in the 2 years I’ve had my PC that I’ve tried. Have burned from Itunes before but this time get the 4550 error message. Have 3 coasters so far, LOL. I have no other problems playing CDs and have never had a problem burning the few times I’ve tried it. So, I’m assuming it’s an itunes problem that may be due to updating to version 8. Anyone think that has something to do with it?

  36. George
    Monday July 27, 2009 at 3:21 PM

    After months of failed burns, the solution for me has been to turn off my modem, close all programs except iTunes, disable my virus scan software, and turn off background applications (the ones with startup icons in the TaskBar). Since doing this I’ve had a half dozen or so successful burns and no fails, using my original CD-ROM and the same batch of CDs that was not burning previously. So for me it wasn’t a hardware problem but something in the background interfering with the burn. I haven’t determined whether it was the modem alone, one of the other things I listed alone, some combination of those things, or everything together. I’m just happy to have found a solution.

  37. tanya
    Wednesday August 5, 2009 at 6:22 PM

    try ‘unchecking’ the ‘text’ box. I just discovered my disc burner literally burned out…..not even showing up on my ‘my computer’, and it smells hot….so, I guess the CD burner being ‘done’ is indeed the answer!

  38. Maria
    Saturday August 8, 2009 at 10:12 PM

    I’m having the same problem right now. It usually cancels the burn process about 5 songs in or halfway through an album.

    I’ve purchased one 100 spindle of blank discs by Memorex and one 30 spindle of the same brand. The 100 spindle cds were gettin this error so i tried the 30 spindle which didn’t have any errors. I went back to the 100 spindle and had the problem again.

    I’ve tried these discs on two different computers…Same problem. I’ve tried them on different software (Itunes and Windows Media)… Same problem.

    I’ve also rebooted my computer back to its original settings… It didn’t help.

    I’ve lowered the record speed and changed the gap setting to none.

    Thinking it was a defective spindle, i bought another 100 spindle. This one had the same problem. So I decided to try a different brand and bought a 100 spindle of Sony… Again, same problem.

    Today, I picked up a 50 spindle of Memorex which burned the entire album this time but at the beginning of each song there was a “pop” sound.

    We’ve contacted memorex but they want to know exactly how many discs had errors so they can “refund them” and now i’m wondering if they’re only gonna replace the errored disc and not the whole spindle?

    I’ve returned so many of these spindles and have been stuck with two of the older ones that have no wrappings/receipts…. Any advice and help to fix this would be appreciated.

    • Thursday January 21, 2010 at 9:23 PM

      I’m listing to disc right now, all I did was turn down burn speed to 12x and no gap between songs and it worked ACE perfectly thanks to all of your wonderful posts. Thank you all!!!

  39. Kat
    Sunday September 6, 2009 at 10:21 PM

    Wow! I’ve also just recently started getting these 4450 error messages when I try to burn discs. Very frustrating!!

    FWIW, I’ve been using HP CD-R 52x 700 MB/80 Min with a lot of success until last night. Now I’ve got five “coasters” since none of them burned without getting the dreaded error message. I did a restart of the computer to see if that helped but nada.

    Thanks for all the advice in the earlier posts. Will try slowing things down and see if that avoids another coaster.

  40. Tuesday September 8, 2009 at 1:52 PM

    my computer wont burn cd’s at all no more..ive tried itunes,windows media and windows media center..help plz

  41. Tuesday September 8, 2009 at 1:53 PM

    if u could help me e-mail me at dcider323@yahoo.com or on myspace.com/valentines15

  42. Laura Garrison
    Monday September 28, 2009 at 5:06 PM

    I had this problem with a couple of CDs. I switched to a different brand of CD and haven’t had the problem since (using the exact same playlist and without uninstalling/reinstalling iTunes.)

  43. joe mcaloon
    Tuesday September 29, 2009 at 9:38 AM

    yeehaw itunes have fixed th problem at long last , i downloaded 9.1 it is for all problems with itunes and hey presto after messing up 30 cds it has worked

  44. joe mcaloon
    Tuesday September 29, 2009 at 4:30 PM

    spoke too soon got 3 play lists out then……. aaaagh

  45. will
    Saturday October 17, 2009 at 12:55 PM

    A combination of running regcure, decreasing the speed of the burn, and updating itunes got me at least one burn after failing several times before. I hate technology sometimes…

  46. brent
    Friday November 13, 2009 at 8:38 AM

    I tried theis a few times and made a couple coasters. then i slowed the speed to 24x and deleted the first song on my burn list. worked fine. may have been a corrupted file……

  47. Jon
    Saturday November 28, 2009 at 3:06 PM

    Ok so i looked through all these posts and two things together solved the problems.

    1. Change space between songs to none and speed to 12x

    2. Whatever you do, do not use iTunes while burning a cd!!! Turn any playing songs off and leave it alone. So far i have had no fails and hope the problem wont come back if i use this method.

    Good Luck~

    • Tong
      Sunday December 6, 2009 at 1:18 PM

      Tried Jon’s summary. Also, not sure if it matters, but I also unchecked the “Include CD Text” box. Worked like a charm. Thank goodness I only made 2 “coasters” before finding this forum. Thanks for the help!

  48. munkees2
    Tuesday December 15, 2009 at 12:54 AM

    hi guys,

    I’ve had this trouble recently as well.. with itunes and wmp.. and i came across this forum and tried a few things out.

    Try uninstalling & deleting itunes (9.0/9.1) and reinstalling an earlier version (itunes 8.1 or older) and then 24x for speed and none for sec b/w songs..

    works perfectly now.

    hope it works for you guys

  49. Seb
    Thursday December 24, 2009 at 12:28 PM

    I have had this problem for a long time and saw that by reducing the burn speed it works fine for me now! I just took it down from max possible to 20x and had no problems burning it or playing it. Many thanks to Kate on 8th Aug 2008 for the advice on that one! :-D

  50. Tracey
    Tuesday January 5, 2010 at 12:19 PM

    Well this is clearly an iTunes issue. I tried all of the recommendations and nothing worked. But what DID WORK is I installed WINAMP and successfully burned my music onto a CD. I used the exact same CDs, exact same burner on my computer (no changes to speed). You can import your playlist from iTunes into WINAMP and go from there. WINAMP is free. Hope this helps.

  51. Don Bowman
    Monday January 11, 2010 at 4:53 PM

    After weeks of dealing with the error#4450 and countless coasters, I have what appears so far to be the solution, at least for me. With the help of Apple, and believe it or not I actually got a phone number and some personalized service. They had me update the firmware on my drive, and so far, everything is as it should be. I’ve had three consecutive and successful burns. After uninstalling and reinstalling iTunes,trying earlier versions, attemting to bypass itunes and use Winamp, nothing was successful.So far, so good, this it’s working for me so I hope this helps.

    • Thursday January 21, 2010 at 9:25 PM

      Turn down your record speed to 12x and put no gap between songs this worked for me thanks for all your help everyone, I’m so happy it burns now!!!

  52. JC from West Hollywood, CA
    Friday January 22, 2010 at 9:07 PM

    I had the same problem. Switched from Memorex cd’s to Sony cd’s and discs burned fine.

  53. Tuesday January 26, 2010 at 10:15 PM

    When I try to burn a CD using Itunes the burn preperation was made ready and the burn started, then cancelled. error 4450. Now I get another reading when burn is ready to burn: saying the computer is not authorized to play or burn (Song from 1952)authorizing the machine to play this song or video will allow it to be burned. I dont understand.That’s what I wanted to do is burn the CD. A few weeks ago it burned some of the same songs on this play list. To remove the error 4450 I was advised to go to control panel, then systems, click hardware tab, open the device manager, and go to IDE/ATAATAPI controllers. I should see stuff that says primary, secondary, and maybe standard channels. These are the only things that should be there. I did this. When I click on these letters and the page opens there’s nothing there except an icon showing same letters. This was supposed to remove the error 4450. Help! HL, NC

  54. Wednesday January 27, 2010 at 5:03 PM

    Error 4450. Is the error coming from the ION installation software. Look at the software installation disc. (mine is version 5.00. The EZ vinyl converter (music ID)is for Windows only. Audacity is recording software for Mac & Windows.But, the EZ audio converter is for Mac ONLY.Since the EZ Audio converter is for Mac only, can we conclude it will not work properly in Windows, causing error 4450 plus other problems?
    Steve

  55. HL
    Wednesday February 3, 2010 at 6:05 PM

    Error 4450 and other problems with Itunes. ANSWER;

    After about 6 weeks and over 100 wasted CD’s I contacted Itunes for help. After 2 weeks or longer trying everything they sent me, I was still at same place I started.
    Then I began experimenting and finally got it right. If you want to try this, go ahead.
    The System needs cleaning
    Step (1), click start, click programs, click accessories, click tools click disc clean up. A pop up will appear. Wait for bar to complete across popup. Another popup will appear. The Disc cleanup for (c). On right side it will show the number KB’s in each, on the left is a place to check. These need to be removed, Check the boxes on left for each KB on right containing any KB’s. Once all are checked, click OK.

    Step (2) If you have the CD software for the (Ion) EZ- Vinyl converter 2, and EZ Audio Converter, Remove both from your computer, then reload them again. If you don’t have the CD software, leave them installed. Once this is finished, repair the Itunes. To do this click start, click settings, click control panel, double click Add/Remove programs. When window opens, scroll down to Itunes. Click on Itunes once, On the right a new word will appear (Change) click change once. When popup appears, click on repair.

    Step (3), Next, slow down the burning speed. To do this, open Itunes on monitor, click edit, click preference, in popup click advance, in popup click burning, in preferred speed, set at 24X, click OK.

    Step (4),When repair is finished, try burning your Itunes again. If you’re using Ion Version 5 software, their turntable, or using cassettes by burning them in the computer, I recommend once they have been converted to Itunes, and posted, try burning one again.
    First make sure song list is at top of page under the word (Name). If it is not there you need to move the song list you want to record at top. If it’s not there go to left bottom of page and click on the X, (Shuffle) until the list moves to top. Then right click on song list, a drop down list will appear. Left click on add to play-list. To your right, click on EZ Vinyl Converter by MixMeister. Click on song title at top of page. It will change color. Then go to left side of page and right click on EZ Vinyl converter by… A popup will open. Insert a blank CD in tray. Left click burn playlist to Disc. Wait for burn to complete. If this works for you, please post your comments online. God Bless, Hutch

    • Wednesday February 3, 2010 at 6:28 PM

      Even if this works, we still haven’t made any progress in understanding what is actually wrong. Apple is completely silent on the issue, and who knows if they’re even bothering to work on it?

      These steps are probably useful, but there are countless problems which these steps could solve. As I’d said in the open letter to Apple, this error was anticipated by the fact that there is an error code designed specifically for whatever is going wrong. Now, why they can’t tell us what this error means is beyond me. It makes absolutely no sense whatsoever.

  56. HL
    Tuesday February 9, 2010 at 10:30 AM

    WE may never know the cause. But if a way to correct our own individual problem is revealed on this site, why not fix it and let others know if did or did not
    work for them. This way we can understand the problem lies somewhere within these areas. This helps us to discover the problem.
    God Bless Hutch

  57. brad whiteman
    Wednesday February 24, 2010 at 5:53 PM

    i did the no gap between songs and the 12x speed and mine finally worked. i only lost 4 or 5 cd’s luckily. i’m just glad i had the thought to type in “itunes error #4450″ and it brought up this page. thanks for the assistance.

  58. liz
    Monday March 8, 2010 at 6:26 PM

    slowing the speed to 12x and no gaps between tracks done the trick for me,i have just burned alicia keyes with success after ruining about 7 blanks,thanks for the tips!!!

  59. Wednesday March 31, 2010 at 4:17 PM

    Thanks all i got this message and lowered the speed to 12x and took of the 2seconds inbetween and bam works fine

  60. Anarchy is Key
    Friday May 14, 2010 at 6:31 AM

    I have not gotten anything to work!
    It seems in my case to be 2 things.
    1. I downloaded a bunch of stuff from iTunes.
    2. It is a new computer (Well new to me).

    I can’t believe everyone is saying set the speed to 12X when I set mine to 1X and it still burnt me 5 coasters…

    I do wish they’d at least tell us what the error means…

    So Frustrating!

    PS Please Don’t buy Memorex anything! Remember their tapes in the 80’s? (They’re likely all blank now unlike good brands)…Horrible stuff…

  61. John
    Monday May 17, 2010 at 3:31 PM

    Everyones hard drive went bad a once? Bullshit! I do not see how replacing the cd burner will work.

  62. Mark
    Wednesday June 9, 2010 at 1:27 PM

    I have been having this problem for sometime and after browsing this, I lowered my burn speed to 8X, and it worked. Ruined several cd’s before doing so.

  63. Steinar
    Wednesday June 16, 2010 at 3:41 AM

    I set the burn speed to 1x (using a DVD), and it worked fine. The speed was practically the same as when the setting was “fastest possible”.

  64. Madhukar Devale
    Monday July 12, 2010 at 7:03 AM

    I want solution solution for following problem.The problem is that :- At some track on cd or dvd burn process is failed.I want from that failed track burn process will be started.

  65. Mike
    Monday July 26, 2010 at 9:47 PM

    I got mine to work by:
    1: Updating to the newest iTunes
    2: Going into Device Manager (by double-clicking on the System icon in Control Panel, choosing the Hardware tab, and clicking Device Manager)
    3: Uninstall the drivers for the DVD/CD drive, look for the DVD drive click to open make sure to wright down the drive name if you need to find it later, then right click and select uninstall.
    4: it should scan for hardware changes and reinstall the drivers

    This worked great for me and i have been burning cds ever since.

  66. Wednesday August 18, 2010 at 10:55 PM

    make sure your not burning mp3s onto an audio disc

  67. Johnny K
    Tuesday August 31, 2010 at 12:42 PM

    I’ve tried my pc at home and at work. Different CDs and different programs(Nero & Roxio). Audio and MP3 CDs with a few songs to a bunch of songs. I’ve dropped the burn rate down to the lowest setting with only one consistent result:

    Songs 1 through 6 will play and the following skip and then don’t play at all.

    I agree with John that it’s not the burner. I can still burn data perfectly fine. And how come most people can get past track 6 or 7? Regardless of file type or amount of songs. I heard the solution is a patch or registry fix.
    Replacing and reloading sounds like too much of a hassel just to get the same result.

  68. Kt McD
    Wednesday September 15, 2010 at 7:19 PM

    I’ve tried everything described except buying a new burner. That doesn’t seem to consistently fix it. Now I’m abandoning iTunes and turning to Amazon Music. Question: Is there anyway to move the songs on my iPod to another computer and switch them into Amazon? I’m not sure but I think the music is saved as AAC files. I run XP on the current computer and Win7 on the laptop where I’ll be putting the music.

  69. Liimu
    Wednesday September 22, 2010 at 8:07 PM

    RegCure is a complete pain in the butt. You get through the whole process only to find out that you have to pay for the product in order for it to finish what it’s doing. Why not say that up front??

  70. Jonny
    Thursday February 10, 2011 at 3:51 PM

    This is an utter farce.

    I used to burn CD’s all the time on Windows media. Windows Media was working just fine for me, until i had to convert to itunes after receiving an ipod as a gift. I much preferred the layout of windows media, i never had any problems. Now this…

    Im using disc cleanup now, hopefully it will work. I’ve made a couple of terrific albums for a lovely girl. I agonized over the tracklisting for a whole day and now im down to my last two CD’s, the rest are ‘coasters’.

    This could cost me dear.

  71. keith
    Monday April 18, 2011 at 10:16 PM

    YEEEESSS!!!!! BURNING AND USING THE “FACTORY” INSTALLED DVD DRIVE WILL EVENTUALLY CRASH N BURN!!! AJUSTING THE SPEED DOESN’T HELP!! GO OUT AND GRAB YU A DECENT EXTERNAL BURNER AND, YOU WILL BE PROBLEM FREE…….FOR THE MOST PART!! :)

  72. joanne
    Tuesday May 10, 2011 at 11:36 PM

    Itunes did not like Memorex. I purchased Sony’s CD’s & I’m listening to my recorded songs!!! Be encouraged.

  73. DWCrmcm
    Thursday May 19, 2011 at 12:43 AM

    try using the slowest speed it appears to work,
    4 year old HL-DT-ST DVDRAM GSA-4082B
    MEMOREX 4X DVD-R
    SET AT 2X

  74. DWCrmcm
    Thursday May 19, 2011 at 5:15 AM

    I should add that I am backing up my library (7 DVDs required)
    1 good
    2 good
    3 good
    4 good
    5 oops dead
    5a good
    6 good
    7 good
    8 good
    9 good

  75. Tuesday June 7, 2011 at 6:32 PM

    Thanks to Robert Smith’s post “make sure your not burning mp3s onto an audio disc” my problem went away.

  76. Wednesday June 15, 2011 at 3:55 PM

    Okay so here is a solution. used the same coaster that failed me so many damn times that I almost screamed, but went from the audio cd burn method to the mp3 cd burn method and it worked just fine. Gonna go test the cd and let all of you know

  77. Wednesday June 15, 2011 at 5:17 PM

    Apparently that failed me as well. I don’t have a clue, gonna research further

  78. Wednesday June 15, 2011 at 6:49 PM

    Okay so here is the deal, burn speed did nothing for me, song gap did nothing for me. Registry did nothing for me. Clean up did nothing for me. Nothing is working so this is gonna require some work, I will keep you posted.

  79. Wednesday June 15, 2011 at 7:46 PM

    Get yourself a higher right speed disk

  80. Andrew
    Monday June 27, 2011 at 1:16 AM

    I was having same issue, but I think it’s because I had a mix of file formats in the playlist that I was attempting to burn, and also had some tracks that I had done some frankenstien editing to. I selected all tracks, then went to advanced menu in the tool bar, and selected “Create AAC Version.” This converted all tracks to the same format and iTunes and my burner were then able to work out the details. Hope this helps.

  81. Jed
    Monday August 1, 2011 at 9:52 PM

    Had the same problem as everyone here. I downloaded “I-tunes for windows” found at I-tunes support page. I didn’t know they had a separate version for windows. Now I can burn a CD. When I downloaded the I-tunes for windows I selected repair current version and it saved all my songs

  82. PCL
    Saturday September 24, 2011 at 9:30 PM

    I’ve noticed problems like this on and off with any kind of writable CDs or DVDs; I hate this technology and avoid it whenever possible (flash keys have rendered data CDs obsolete for many purposes). Recently, I noticed my DVD recorder was having more and more trouble finalizing, writing and even loading fresh DVDs; I tried one after another from the same 50 disk package, they all ran into trouble as one point or another. Then I thought of a story I read about a month ago about a “solar particle storm” disrupting power lines and communications in various locations. With that in mind, I grabbed a disk from the middle of the package (rather than just the next one that happened to be on top); it loaded flawlessly. Could it be that write-able CDs and DVDs are vulnerable enough to these rays (which are known to cause RAM errors) that a whole pile of them could be gradually ruined? This would explain why “bad batches” show up, even with supposedly respectable brand names. It’s all speculation on my part at this point, but could storing these disks vertically make them less un-reliable?

    • Sunday September 25, 2011 at 9:22 AM

      That is a very interesting observation. Nothing I’d ever even considered before. It does seem to make, at least, intuitive sense. I’m curious to know if anyone has done any research on that. I’ll take a look around and see what I can find…

  83. john cipe
    Sunday October 2, 2011 at 2:16 PM

    I was getting Error 4250 and then Error 4450 when burning a cd from iTunes.
    I tried going to Control Panel>>iTunes>>select “Change” and then “Repair”. After that, I tried lowering the burn process to TWELVE TIMES (12x) because the machine is old and the burner is probably getting old so at “Maximum Possible” it burns too fast. After taking those steps – IT WORKED!
    Running: Windows XP
    iTunes 10.

  84. Thursday October 13, 2011 at 5:53 AM

    I had only burnt a CD once ages ago, which ended up only being one song. About two years later now, I’m trying to burn a CD for a party, and keep getting the error. I’ve tried different disk types, brands, everything. I then saw the advice to slow the process down. I slowed it down bit by bit, and now I’m at 1x. However, it does work, so solved my problem!
    Mostly cause I really need this CD :P
    It’s also actually not taking that long, and I don’t exactly feel like I’m making a huge sacrifice. There are more mistakes at higher speeds anyway.

  85. Confused and Upset 1985
    Saturday October 22, 2011 at 1:05 PM

    I’ve had error 4480 reduced the number of tracks I intend to burn and now I’m getting error 4450 – thing is this is on a 2 month old Sony Vaio that has been used to create 1x CD in it’s life and only had 2 others inserted, so I don’t think my drive is knackered :(

    Really frustrating seen as I have just spent pretty much half the day trying to create the ultimate driving CD that I would really enjoy, and now I can’t use it – and my silly ipod will no longer connect to my car stereo… I hate technology sometimes, if you find someone living up a tree washing themselves with rainwater and using squirrels as towels, that will probably be me…

  86. max
    Saturday November 12, 2011 at 2:46 PM

    i donbt even get a error when i try to burn cds in real player it just locks up the drive and ruins the burn.

  87. Tish
    Monday February 27, 2012 at 11:40 PM

    anyone consider an insidious flaw inserted to windows update to cause duplicating/suspected piracy to start failing?

  88. Retha Schmucker
    Wednesday April 18, 2012 at 2:16 AM

    Prior to this time, I’ve only used the drive for anything at all approximately 10 times. I don’t think the drive has anything to do with my getting the 4450 error messages.

    • Wednesday April 18, 2012 at 5:45 PM

      Yeah. And it’s been a really long time since I wrote this post… still no information about this error.

  89. calandra
    Monday May 28, 2012 at 9:14 PM

    I reduced the number of songs per CD, worked like a charm Thanks

  90. marie
    Friday September 14, 2012 at 2:23 PM

    funny, after reading these replies i took a disc from the middle of the pack and changed the speed and also removed the triangle sign from the top of the column and hey presto i burned my mp3 cd after getting the 4450 error – thanks all

    • Saturday September 15, 2012 at 8:54 AM

      It seems like solutions like this work for a little bit, but then the error pops back up. I just wish I knew what the error actually was so that we could know for sure if it was fixed.

  91. Clive
    Sunday February 24, 2013 at 12:47 PM

    A way around the problem. I don’t know how to get rid of the error message,but try this alternative.Create a new playlist,i call mine copying list and move all the discs you want to copy to it in the correct order. Load a disc and start to copy.When the first disc is copied you will get the message 4450.Click cancel and the disc will eject but you will find that it has copied OK from start to finish.Delete the disc from the top of your list,insert your next blank disc and go through the copying proceedure.You are now copying disc 2 although because of the deletion everything moved up and it’s actually called disc 1 again. It’s a bit long winded but it works for me.

  92. Sonia
    Tuesday April 30, 2013 at 6:24 PM

    Reducing the speed to 12 and changing the gap between songs worked-thanks!

  93. Elise
    Thursday May 23, 2013 at 2:48 PM

    I reduced the speed to 16 and it worked, thanks everyone. I’ll probably need a new drive soon anyway, o well.

  94. Calvin
    Saturday June 8, 2013 at 5:45 AM

    Thanks to the site owner for this really useful (and long-lasting!) discussion.

    Any or all of the above suggestions may well work for others – though not for me. The thing that did work, however, was in taking off a song or two from my (carefully constructed!) playlists. I always try and fill my CDs with songs but, if your CD will only take 80 minutes of music, 79 mins and 25 seconds (for example) may also attract this burn error. As a rule of thumb, I now try and keep a CD to below 78 minutes and I’m now having again to go to the shops for my coasters…

  1. Sunday June 7, 2009 at 1:08 PM

Tell Me What You Think...

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

